Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Pattern Universe - RC Pattern Flying > Classic RC Pattern Flying
Reload this Page >

MK BEETLE 60. . . . ANY DETAILS PLEASE?

Community
Search
Notices
Classic RC Pattern Flying Discuss here all pre 1996 RC Pattern Flying in this forum.

MK BEETLE 60. . . . ANY DETAILS PLEASE?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2007, 02:02 PM
MK KITS

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default MK BEETLE 60. . . . ANY DETAILS PLEASE?

Hello RCU members!
First a brief bit about me seeing as this is my first post. I live in cornwall in the UK and i am an avionics engineer in 'her majestys' ROYAL NAVY and i have been for 8 years, prior to this i worked at westland helicopters. I have been flying rc fixed wing for 22years and helicopters for about 16 of these, i have flown with demonstration teams and for hobby companies in the UK and i am currently flying with the ATS Mayneline funfighter team. I have also competed in both F3A and F3C comps across our country and ultimately at the british nationals. My one consistent burning passion (may be obsession! ) is my love of pattern flying, primarily the patternships of the 70's and 80's (and some very early 90's types) Naruke, Prettner, Matt and others all gave us such elegant designs. I have always favoured MK kits and have built many over the years such as the Curare 20 & 60, skymaster 60, Aurora 60, Magic 60, Blue angel 20 & 60 all of which have flown as well as they built, they were costly when they were readily available but now they are thin on the ground the costs have escalated but i believe the unequaled quality in materials, build & flying qualities justify the cost. I have recently aquired an MK Skymaster 20 & Aurora 60 after much searching, but one design has always eluded me and This is the MK Beetle 60. I have seen very few of them and know nothing of its origins other than its an Akiba design he modelled on the Aurora 60. The Beetle is next on my list and i really would like some Background, details and