Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Trip Planning Help Please

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2012, 05:14 AM
Propworn
My Feedback: (3)

Received 29 Likes on 24 Posts
Default Trip Planning Help Please

I am planning to travel from Windsor Ontario Canada (Detroit Michigan border crossing) to attend an event in Van Nuys California in early April. I used Google maps to look at the most direct route. And it takes me across Iowa, Nebraska, Colorado, Utah, Nevada and into California. I am wondering what to expect weather wise at this time and any concerns I should be aware of. I have not driven to California so I have no experience to draw on. I will be traveling with a few models and will be on the lookout for any flying fields that welcomes visitors. If you belong to or are aware of any give me a suggestion or two. I will be attending the SAE Aerodesign West competition as the pilot for the University of Windsor’s entry. I would like to break up the long trip by visiting a few RC aircraft fields or points of interest on the way.
Dennis Pratt
Old 10-02-2012, 05:35 AM
scale only 4 me
My Feedback: (158)

Received 51 Likes on 49 Posts
Default RE: Trip Planning Help Please

Dennis,,
April is a crap shoot, Most think of it as spring, but you can still get significant snows in the Rockies then as here in the Midwest

I've driving cross contry many times, a few times in November and December,, I have roots in SoCal and flew where you're going as my main field for years,