Community
Search
Notices
The Clubhouse If it doesn't fit in any other category and is about general RC stuff then post it here at the Clubhouse.

Silkspan covering

Search this Thread

Old 07-18-2007, 08:13 PM
dksoder

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Silkspan covering

When you use dope and silkspan, on the first applications , do you use straight dope, or is it diluted to a 60-40 solution.
Old 07-18-2007, 08:48 PM
Jim Thomerson

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Silkspan covering

If I want transparency, I use fairly thin dope for the first couple of coats and brush it through the silkspan, then go to thicker coats. If opaque, initial thicker coats are OK.
Old 07-19-2007, 05:47 AM
dksoder

To Jim Thomersom
I don't know if I am doing this right or not. I'm new to this, but thank you for the quick comeback. Mal
Old 07-19-2007, 08:36 PM
jessiej

Jim summed it up nicely. For more info you might do a search on the "Vintage & Antique RC" forum.

jess
Old 07-20-2007, 07:28 PM
Azcat59

I wonder where you are using it? Over open bays, as we used to do in control line (and I think they still do), it is pretty fragile and I don't think I would recommend it for RC. But I still use it frequently over wood areas on painted planes, such as WW II warbirds. Two thinned coats of nitrate on the wood, sanding slighlty between coats, then run the silkspan through a cake pan with water, and blot on newspaper so it is damp, but not dripping, lay it on the surface, dope around the edges, rubbing the dope in with your fingers. When dry, sand off the perimeter "flashing', and dope the center areas with thinned dope. Sand a little (don't fuss it all up though) between coats, and give it three or four coats, thinned some. After the last coat and sanding, you should be ready for primer.

Hope this helps rather than confuses.

Clair Sieverling
Old 07-21-2007, 06:43 AM
dksoder

Clair