Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

Kevlar Hinge

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2010, 06:49 AM
al010964

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kevlar Hinge

Hi All,

Hi I am new to bagging wings and have some questions re: kevlar hinges, and have searched the forums, without much luck.

(a) One of the main composite suppliers in the States sells a 2.5 oz Uni Direction Kevlar, has anyone used this material to make hinges ? The layup I was planning to use is 3.5-3.7 oz 80/20 carbon and 3/4 oz glass + kevlar. It seems the most common kevlar material is 1.7 oz cut on a 45o bias. However the 2.5 oz would be significantly cheaper as it come's in a 12" width, so less wastage.

The sales blurb is :
UnidirectionalKevlar® is a new and easy to apply type of reinforcement. It consists of a non-woven sheet of unidirectional Kevlar® fibers that are held in position by a fine spider web of polymer fibrils lying on one or both surfaces. The special polymer used is compatible with epoxy and polyester resins. The fibril or web system that bonds the reinforcement fibers together allows the fabric to be cut easily, trimmed, or slit, giving clean edges with absolutely no fraying. The fibers lie flat and straight, and cannot shift or bunch up as often happens with uni-stitched fabrics.

(b) Does anyone know of a supplier in Australia that sells light weight 1.7 oz Kevlar or Carbon e.g. 80/20 in 3.5 oz and up range?

(c) Once you cut the hinge's what is the best way to treat the foam to stop fuel and oil ingress?

Thanks in Advance,

Adrian

Old 10-06-2010, 07:23 AM
Scar
My Feedback: (3)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: Kevlar Hinge

There's a great treatment of Kevlar hinges in the "Sticky" posts at the top of the Beginner's forum.

I must be missing something, because I'm not quite making the connection between bagging wings and this Kevlar brand you mention. Could you elaborate?