Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

building snow skis?

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2004, 09:56 AM
mteh2o

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default building snow skis?

I was wondering if anyone knew how to build snow skis. snow has fallen and I want to fly. anyone got any Ideas or plans.. thanks Todd
Old 01-17-2004, 05:42 PM
e=mc2

Default RE: building snow skis?

I have heard from some senior members of our r/c club that they have tried using skis for flying in snow and weren't very impressed. They have had better success with floats on snow!

I have no personal experience, but I hold a very high opinion of these gentlemen that I heard this from.

e=mc2
Old 01-18-2004, 02:34 PM
yak52

I was flying today and it was lovely. There was snow about 10 inch and very cold. It was little hard to start the engine. You have to connect the skis about 2/3 from the front of the plane or it will fall over.

Snow
Old 02-02-2005, 02:06 PM
Bobby likes 3D

After looking at a Post of skis on a Ugly Stick using 2 sets of main gear and a piece of composite downspout rain-gutter purchased at Home Depot I got this idea for my conventional (tail-wheel) Gear 33% extra 330

Materials Needed are: 1 white plastic house gutter down spout (the one with the elbow on the end), 1 extra elbow (both at Home depot), 1 carbon fiber push/pull linkage tube 36 in., 3/8 square spruce stock 24 in., light ply scrap, 6 small eye hooks (Home depot), 2 plastic nose wheel mounts, 10 servo wood screws, pull pull cable, rubber bands, scrap block of balsa (if you want to make a ski for the tail-wheel)