Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

Fiberglass weight gain

Search this Thread

Old 05-16-2005, 06:03 PM
Atom Ant

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fiberglass weight gain

I am considering fiberglassing a 8-9 lb plane. I would prefer to fiberglass because it has many compound curves and the finish will look much better. If I fiberglass I would use 3/4 oz fiber and Minwax polyurethane. My question is about how much weight gain will I see compared to traditional Monokote/Ultracote covering?
Old 05-17-2005, 11:53 AM
bruce88123

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Fiberglass weight gain

MINWAX? Is this something people have been using and I have just missed. I've never heard of using MINWAX but I'm new to this stuff too. [sm=confused.gif][sm=confused.gif] Sincere question, I've never heard of this being used.
Old 05-17-2005, 01:23 PM
Atom Ant

It is fairly widely used. There are many post about it. It is typically lighter than traditional epoxy resin.
Old 05-17-2005, 01:33 PM
NAES

The Minwax is a waterbased polyurathane that is a lot easier and safer to use for many applications such as glassing wings and fuses.

It's fuelproof up to 15%, is a single process application, no dangerous fumes, you can get it on your hands without worrying about toxins and is water cleanup.

I personally use Varathane semigloss. What you do is paint on a sloppy coat of varathane on your wing, fuse or tail, lay on your glass, and then squeegee and dab it on. Start in the middle and work your way out, add Varathane where needed and then squeegee off the excess, trim as needed. Put it out in the sun and your done. Give it a day and then paint. I like to use latex house paint as it's also 15% fuel proof.

Give it a try, it works great.

Oh, and to the original question, weight gain will be about the same.

NAES
Old 05-18-2005, 02:59 PM
bruce88123