Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
Reload this Page >

How do I make a cowl, and canopy????

Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

How do I make a cowl, and canopy????

Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2002, 03:18 PM
robert

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How do I make a cowl, and canopy????

Hey...
I am thinking of making a 46 sized pattern ship, but I am having trouble designing a cowl and canopy that I can build from wood. What would be the steps in making a glass set?
The problems for me are that it is a very curved area, and its hard to make with wood.
But, I have no F/G experience...and not alot of tools, and little space....So, how do I do it?
Thanks for the help!!
Robert.
Old 10-07-2002, 03:09 PM
robert

Anyone? Please, I am desperate here!
Robert.
Old 10-07-2002, 10:21 PM
Ollie

The easiest and least costly way is to make them is by the lost foam method. You will need blocks of closed cell polystyrene foam. Pink or blue foam boards are usually available from Home Depot, Lowes or other building supply outlets. You will need several pairs of vinyl examination gloves, a roll of clear packing tape, 30 or 45 minute laminating epoxy, a couple of yards of 1.4 or 2 ounce glass cloth, disposable mixing cups and disposable acid brushes.

1. Carve and sand the foam blocks to the finished shapes of the fiberglass parts allowing 1/32 inch for the thickness of the fivberglass.
2. Cover the foam plugs with clear packing tape.
3. Cover the plug withone piece of fiberglass cloth and trim to shape overlapping the fiberglass by 1/2 inch or so where it meets itself.
4. Remove the glass cloth and using it as a pattern, cut 15 more pieces of 1.4 ounce or 11 more pieces of 2 ounce fiberglass cloth to the shape of the pattern. Orient the patern so that no edge runs parallel to the threads of the cloth to prevent fraying.