Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

First time painting

Search this Thread

Old 11-30-2005, 10:35 PM
mumblety-peg
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default First time painting

This is my first time trying to paint a balsa plane. It's a Great Planes Patriot. It's glassed and pretty darn smooth. I wanted to keep it simple. So I'm using rattle cans of Rustolem.

It seems like 50% of the time, when I lay down the paint, I end up with a pitted area. That's the best way I can describe it.
The paint just seems to be puckered up. I've cleaned the surface wiht alcohol and I'm careful not to touch the surface.

Any idea what would cause this? Should I just spring for a paint gun?

Thanks
Mum
Old 12-01-2005, 12:05 AM
davidfee

Default RE: First time painting

Shake very well for several minutes, warm the can in a sink full of hot water, shake again (and frequently) and spray very light coats. Allow the solvent to flash off between coats.

Good luck... I hate spray cans.

-David
Old 12-01-2005, 07:47 AM
da Rock

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It seems like 50% of the time, when I lay down the paint, I end up with a pitted area. That's the best way I can describe it.
"pitted area" sounds typical for a glassed area. Polyester and epoxy surfaces almost always have very tiny pits in them. You almost always have to prime the surface to get rid of them.

Have you read building articles where the author/builder mentioned, "primer coat, sanded almost completely off"? He did that to fill the tiny little holes that are really hard to notice when the glass is just finished, but will show up BIGTIME with a coat of shiny, opaque color. Those holes are why that author took the time to paint on a primer and then sanded it almost completely off. He sounded like an idiot, right?
Old 12-01-2005, 01:19 PM
mumblety-peg