Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Composites Fabrication And Repair
Reload this Page >

Conversion from rubber bands to fixed wing

Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

Conversion from rubber bands to fixed wing

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2006, 03:55 AM
Brecht

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Conversion from rubber bands to fixed wing

Can anyone help me?
I have a Arising star trainer and like many trainers the wing is held by rubber bands. Now , since I'm no beginner anymore and I want to put my OS FL70 on it, I want to change the wing assembly with nylon bolts. does anyone got some tips since I have no idea how to doe this?

Greetz Brecht
Old 12-16-2006, 08:05 PM
Jgear
My Feedback: (3)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Conversion from rubber bands to fixed wing

That OS 70 is going to be alot more power and stress on a trainer airframe...as for you wing, you might look at the Dubro nylon wing mounting kit and some hardwood blocks. Check out their website. I converted a rubber band held wing to nylon using two of these kits. However, my plane was built up so I did not care about damaging the covering material and I had plans to figure out where to put the mounting blocks inside the wing. I set mine up were the bolts mount flush along the airfoil line. So the thread blocks were angled inside the fuse.

It's probably best if you get someone with building experience to help you.