Community
Search
Notices
Composites Fabrication And Repair Carbon Fiber, Kevlar, Fiberglass and all the newest high tech composites

Glassing a wing?

Search this Thread

Old 02-22-2007, 08:04 PM
aerotow1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Glassing a wing?

I have a scale sailplane with a 4.2 meter span and would like to glass the wings. I have never done any glass work like this before and have a few questions. I am not looking to add strenghth to the sailplane the wings are foam core with obechi sheeting and ultra cote covering. I would like to have the durability and finish of paint. 1. Here is a material that "Fiberlay" sells and I thought it might be a good one to use, but I am not sure. Should I be looking for a woven product and not a veil type material. It sure seems light, how much epoxy does it take to wet out veil -vs- woven? is one better than the other? 2. If anyone has any input on other materials or if anyone has used this kind of material I would sure like some input. Any suggestions on this project would be appreciated.
Thanks,
Dan

161 - KEVLAR VEIL 0.4OZ X 39"
$17.28

Non woven aramid veil used as a surface layer giving a smooth finish combined with improved impact and wear resistance. Weight of material is 0.38 oz/sq yd. Sold by the linear yard.
Old 02-22-2007, 09:54 PM
soarrich
My Feedback: (98)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Glassing a wing?

First DON'T use kevlar! If you sand and touch the kevlar you'll have something akin to a tennis ball[:'(]