Go Back  RCU Forums > Radios, Batteries, Clubhouse and more > Control Lines
 Fox stunt .40 - anyone used one? >

Fox stunt .40 - anyone used one?

Notices
Control Lines For all you fly-by-wire fanatics!

Fox stunt .40 - anyone used one?

Old 09-19-2007, 08:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fox stunt .40 - anyone used one?

Not the newer 6 bolt backplate, this is 4 bolt with a tall smallish venturi. Good? Bad? Never saw one in 30 years, but I have access to a brand new one.
Old 09-20-2007, 05:12 PM

Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: Fox stunt .40 - anyone used one?

Cutaway,

Was this the first Schneurle 40, from about 1970, with an aluminum cuff/spacer between the lower case and head, or an earlier baffle piston 40?

I have no personal experience using it but a friend, back then, liked the hefty 40 I describe - if he could get the head on straight. Torquing was a bit more demanding, with that sorta soft aluminum cooling-fin stack in the middle of things...

Interested to see what you've turned up, here...
Old 09-20-2007, 09:10 PM

Looks like an ordinary loop scavenged design. More cooling fins on the head/cylinder than a stunt .35, but other than that not a whole lot bigger package. The venturi is smallish diameter but long like a McCoy.
Old 09-21-2007, 07:53 PM

Cutaway,

I recall that engine, vaguely, from the mid- or late-60's. The Army sent me odd places in those days, so only intermittent opportunities... Did try to keep up with the magazine coverage, but again, only sporadically.