Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Crash & Rebuild
Reload this Page >

H9 Funtana 40 Tail Shear

Community
Search
Notices
Crash & Rebuild Post your crash stories, pictures and if you want to document your rebuild you can do that here too!

H9 Funtana 40 Tail Shear

Search this Thread

Old 08-31-2007, 09:12 PM
ben.p.smith

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default H9 Funtana 40 Tail Shear

Had an interesting experience tonight while flying my H9 Funtana 40. I want to preface this by noting that I have been flying for 23 years and have built from scratch, kits or designed well over 60 airplanes. In this time I've owned a total of 2 ARF's... one about 20 years ago and the H9 Funtana. I've had plenty of "dumb thumbs" incidents and a few electronic failures... but never anything remotely close to what happened tonight. While doing a series of fairly violent snaps the entire tail of the airplane sheared off in flight! The only thing(s) holding the tail to the fuse were the control rods for the rudder and elevator. Luckily the plane pancaked into soft mud.. so it will be a fairly simple rebuild... but I have never had a structural failure on any plane I have built from the ground up. Upon examining the tail, it appears that the entire assembly is literally butt glued to the rear of the fuse. Except for the 1/8" balsa fuse sides (that had a lightening hole just aft of the joint) nothing of any substance was actually holding the tail to the rest of the aircraft.... just butt glued balsa blocks and stringers CA'd to the lite ply rear bulkhead! Now I do have to admit that ARF's have come a long way in the 20 years since I had my first one... but this is just an example of poor joining, glue and engineering. Those of you with this model, I would highly recommend beefing up this joint with some epoxy and perhaps a few stringers.