Community
Search
Notices
E-Flight Power Sources Ask questions or read about power sources as they specifically relate to e-flight including Lithium-ion, Li-Poly, Nimh and Nicad battery packs.

LiPo + charger/balancer

Search this Thread

Old 04-25-2007, 10:40 AM
EpiphoneErik

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default LiPo + charger/balancer

I will be purchasing another foamy soon...most likely an AirfoilZ model. I have been flying nitros for about 10 years, but recently got my first foamy (GP Yak 55 3D EP). it's pretty stock and I took Tower Hobbies' recommendation on most of the parts. Hence, I have the 22M-1000 Rimfire brushless and the Electrifly 1500mAh 8C LiPos.

I will be building my AirfoilZ w/ better components and wanted some suggestions on a good charger and balancer (I need a balancer right?). Also, are Apogee batteries good? I was looking at some of the 3cell 1500mAh 20Cs. Very nice price! But I don't want to get a crappy battery. The Thunder Power batteries seem pricy, but if they are the ones I should get, so be it.

I'll tell you the charger and balancer I was looking at were the Thunder Power TP-205 balancer, and the Thunder Power TP-535C LiPoly charger. They each run about $60 from www.3dxhobbies.com .

Will a LiPoly charger charge all Lipolys? or will I be soldering and unsoldering plugs all day? I don't know if chargers are proprietary to charging only their brand of batteries (eg. Thunder Power Lipos).

Thanks for any information you can offer...I'm still a bit lost when it comes to the whole power systems thing.

-Erik

P.S. I will be adding balancer plugs to my Electrifly batteries, because there are none on there now....where can I get the plugs to solder on? Are these them [link=http://www.3dxhobbies.com/product_p/csmale4.htm]CLICK HERE 3dxhobbies[/link]
Old 04-25-2007, 01:11 PM
Fliprob17

Default RE: LiPo + charger/balancer