Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Guidance for newbie

Search this Thread

Old 02-04-2017, 10:15 AM
Streetsnake

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Guidance for newbie

Hello guys,
I'm brand new to rc flying. Couple of months earlier I bought the Esky Honey Bee CP2 thinking that it would be fairly easy to fly it. Two months later I realized that it was a bad choice to start with because every time I tried just to hover something was happening resulting in about 20 euros of damage (this has happened 4 times until now). I'm a bit disappointed now.... My goal from the start was to make a totally autonomous uav with real feed (from a camera) on my laptop's screen with the max possible flight time and range about 5-10 km. I thought I could try my luck in flying it myself before giving total control to the autopilot (......). I even found and read a BSc Report on that exact project (upgrading a Esky Honey Bee CP2 to a fully autonomous uav). Then I kept on reading finding out that rc gliders can achieve greater flight times that my heli even with battery upgrade. The budget I can afford spending is about 300-400 euros. So after my story here come the questions :
  1. Should I keep my heli or sell it for a glider ?
  2. Where should I start reading from, or even better any suggestions to look for?

PS: I'm not an expert but can use a soldering iron and can handle wiring as well.

ANY HELP IS GREATLY ACCEPTED
Old 02-06-2017, 09:05 AM
Rodney

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts