Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

Field flightbox setup

Search this Thread

Old 04-13-2009, 02:09 AM
stufly

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Field flightbox setup

Hi folks - I'm a newbie, so sorry in advance for stupid questions, but I'm keen to learn about this great sport of RC flying with "Electrics"

I have just recently got back into flying planes after a 30 year break!, and wish to stay totally electric (also trying to get my 7 yo son interested and away fro mthe PC and XBOX !).

I have already been successfully flying a "Monton" ARTF 1.6m glider equipped with JR X2610 TX/RX set, a Mega brushless speed 480 motor, easy 40a ESC and FlightPower EVO20 1800mAh 3S1P 11.1v LiPo battery.
I'm still trying to get my head around all the "battery" lingo of volts, amps, C's, balancing and chargers etc etc. I have been reading lot's of articles on these topics already,s o hopefully it will all sink in soon!

I have now purchased a ARTF Seagull Boomerang 40 high-wing trainer and plan to fit it out like this example (http://www.modelflight.com.au/rc_mod...omerang_60.htm)
basically the items I will use are;
-DualSky XMotor brushless outrunner = XM5050CA8 (http://www.dualsky.com/main.asp?mainset=31)
-DualSky ESC, 80amp 2-6S LiPo (http://www.dualsky.com/main.asp?mainset=29)
-FlightPower 3700mAh LiPo battery, 5S, 18.5v
-13x8 prop
(any suggestions on this config is welcome)

So I thought, what I need is a decent field box to keep stuff together and to manage all the LiPo charging away from the car engine bay (which I have been doing so far with my "Swallow Advance" charger) - dangerous I know!

So my quetions are;
Is a flight box like this OK? = http://www.wholesaletrains.com/Detai...p?ID=200408670
What type and size of battery should I use to do the charging of 1800 to 3700 mAh LiPo batteries (and future 5000mAh also hopfully) ?