Community
Search
Notices
Electric General Discussion General Discussion forum about rc electric related aircraft, accessories, flight, tips, etc.

New to electric flight

Search this Thread

Old 03-03-2010, 10:06 AM
Nesal

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New to electric flight

Hi guys,
im new to electric flight but not to RC, I am looking to get something to fly around the park with like a mini mag or something simple like that. I have bigger nitros which i can fly pretty well but they are way too big and loud for anywhere near my house...
I have been looking on hobbyking.com for a decently priced BL motor and ESC but very few say: for models up to 1kg, for example. So my question is simple, how do you know which one to get? I know the ESc just needs to be able to handle the Amps the motor puts out, but... what motor? what size? what kv? HELP!!! lol

Thanks guys
Old 03-03-2010, 10:19 AM
Witterings

Default RE: New to electric flight

Just as a very approximate guide a 3s battery when it's a bit run down / under strain will produce a bit over 10v's but I use 10 as a round figure and multiply it by the number of amps of the motor so say 15 amps x 10 is approx 150 watts - this is a very approximate though and it's one of those things you learn with time.
The minimag if you're used to flying other things you probably want about 150 / 180 watts to give you some reasonable power, you may want to look at their ParkMaster and Acromaster as well depending how experienced you are, how much space you have and if you want to be able to do 3D or if it's just for sport flying.
kv generally limits the prop size, the higher the kv the smaller prop so say a 1400 kv you'd probably only wany a 7 / 8" prop but an 800 kv you could go to 13 / 14"
Old 03-03-2010, 10:40 AM
Witterings

Either of these would work quite well with the Minimag, get a 25 amp esc as you won't notice the extra weight but if you want to get a bigger plane later on can use it then