Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Indoor & Micro RC Flight
Reload this Page >

Total newbie - looking for pointers

Notices
Electric Indoor & Micro RC Flight Talk about this fast growing niche in rc. Micro radios, micro electric or co2 powered planes, heli's both indoors and out.

Total newbie - looking for pointers

Old 04-05-2021, 04:33 PM
jadrake

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lightbulb Total newbie - looking for pointers

Dear All,

I am very interested in getting involved in Micro RC flight. I am a high school teacher, teaching electronics and robotics, and I think this aspect of RC flight is perfect for me and my students. It'll allow us to construct on a manageable scale, with (hopefully) manageable cost, and we can fly indoors at school. I'm a committed researcher, so I'm happy to read manuals, product reviews, how-tos and build guides for hours until I understand something and have a general idea of how to progress.

My problem is that with Micro-RC, I really have no idea where to start, so I thought I'd throw myself upon your mercy and collective wisdom. Here's a few questions I've got rattling around my head that I thought would be a good place to start. Obviously, if you can think of something I've missed, please let me know!

1) I'm assuming the place to start is with the TX/RX combo. What are the go-to recommendations out there, specifically for beginners, with a suggestion for higher-spec items if it's financially worth-while? Is there one brand that's cornered the market, one TX/RX system or protocol that's worth focussing on?
2) Are there recommended plane kits (either with or without electronics) that work well indoors, are easily repairable and suitable for beginners?
3) Battery/charger recommendations?