Notices
Electric Indoor & Micro RC Flight Talk about this fast growing niche in rc. Micro radios, micro electric or co2 powered planes, heli's both indoors and out.

increasing range

Old 06-15-2006, 03:19 PM
  #1  
Junior Member
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Mint Hill, NC
Posts: 27
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default increasing range

Notice that the aero hog page says add some wire to the transmitter antenna??? I thought it was added to the rceiver?? if you add to the receiver how do you get to the receiver antenna to add the extra length? thanks
Old 06-15-2006, 05:56 PM
  #2  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
micro_builder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: increasing range

if you add wire to either antenna, it has to be a certain leangth to match the radio frequency. there's an equasion for doing such things, but i dont have it on hand. a few people have made baseloaded antennas on the RX which has increased range, and others have added cells to the TX to give a stronger signal. i've done neither, as i never fly far enough to worry about loss of range, but either is certainly possible.

nick
Old 06-23-2006, 03:40 PM
  #3  
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Weyburn, SK, CANADA
Posts: 350
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: increasing range

Why do you guys have such a problem with range both of mine have been good I can fly them so far that I cant tell if its the front or the rear facing me and still have full control
Old 06-25-2006, 11:42 AM
  #4  
Senior Member
 
Neurotex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Warren, MI
Posts: 1,135
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: increasing range


ORIGINAL: micro_builder

if you add wire to either antenna, it has to be a certain leangth to match the radio frequency.
nick
Really? I've never heard of this before.
On my AA's I've replaced all three of the antenna with thicker and longer
wire with better results. One plane has it sticking 6 inches out from the tail.
Wouldn't the longer the receiver wire the better? Same as on your music radio.
Is it drawing current and maybe causing a lapse time?
I've never lost a plane since changing the antenna.
Old 06-25-2006, 12:08 PM
  #5  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (1)
 
micro_builder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 1,241
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: increasing range

i kinda worded badly...to really match the frequency being transmitted by the Tx, its usually better to make the antenna the proper leangth, but that being said, its not something that has to be done. heck, i've done the same thing, just add however long a peice of wire and off she goes.

nick

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are On


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.