Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

Puffy LiPo packs

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2011, 06:37 PM
burtona
My Feedback: (50)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Puffy LiPo packs

I've got a couple of Zippy and FliteMax 5000 10S packs that are getting soft and puffed up. Both packs charge OK and fly the 2M planes OK. At what point should I stop using them? When do the become unsafe to charge? Ive been using these packs regularly for about 2 years now. I don't keep records on them so I don't know how many cycles they have been through. Any battery experts out there that can help me know when to stop using and dispose of them?
Dave Burton
Old 07-11-2011, 08:24 PM
DaveL322

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Puffy LiPo packs

Dave,

Without removing the heatshrink, it can often be hard to tell if the cells are really puffed, or it is trapped air. I would say it it more important to track the cell balance...almost all lipo packs will get "squishy" with age to some extent, and many will also increase slightly in volume.

If the balance on the packs is good at the end of charging and the end of flying, I'd keep running them. If you can measure IR, also keep an eye out for IR readings of a single cell that is substantially higher than the others - if you see that, the pack is not going to last much longer.

REgards,
Old 07-11-2011, 10:08 PM
mithrandir
My Feedback: (2)

all my flightmax are Perma-Puffed.. after about 30 flights they started this.......
Old 07-12-2011, 08:52 AM
burtona
My Feedback: (50)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

ORIGINAL: DaveL322

Dave,

Without removing the heatshrink, it can often be hard to tell if the cells are really puffed, or it is trapped air. I would say it it more important to track the cell balance...almost all lipo packs will get ''squishy'' with age to some extent, and many will also increase slightly in volume.