Notices
Electric Pattern Aircraft Discuss epowered pattern aircraft in this forum

AXI 5330/FAI

Old 01-18-2006, 12:00 PM
  #26  
Senior Member
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Maryville, TN
Posts: 154
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

ORIGINAL: PatternPilot

I'm using the 5330/18 motor with the CC HV85 and the CC HV110 and the APC E 18x12 prop with a 10s2p pack and drawing 68-69 amps turning 6500 rpms and putting out 2200 watts on a 11 lbs plane. A friend of mine Dan Landis is running the same and just did some testing with the FAI and he did see some increased power but no numbers yet..
PatternPilot,
Do you know if Danny is still running the APC 15.75x13 3-blade? Or has he switched to the 18x12 2-blade?
--Derek
Old 01-18-2006, 03:45 PM
  #27  
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 751
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

One thing to keep in mind with the aircraft weight is the actual wing loading. A 9 lb airplane could do well if the wing was proportionately smaller as well... you could make do with less power, or less power consumption, in the verticals but you would also still have the higher wing loading for gusty conditions. A super light version of a plane that normally weighs 5 kg would indeed be a handful in wind.

Of course in my case it's all theoretical anyway... the only way I could get that light is to leave off a wing or something!
Old 01-18-2006, 03:47 PM
  #28  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
RC_Pattern_Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,119
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

Danny has switched to an electric prop.. not sure exactly which one.. have to check my notes, i will post more later.

Chuck
Old 01-18-2006, 03:55 PM
  #29  
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Plainfield, NJ
Posts: 338
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

Hi All,
I'm pretty sure it's an 18-12E APC.
Dean P.
Old 01-18-2006, 04:12 PM
  #30  
My Feedback: (58)
 
PatternPilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 1,807
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

Derek,

Dan has went to the 18x12 E prop now and doing some more testing..


scott
Old 01-18-2006, 05:08 PM
  #31  
My Feedback: (1)
 
can773's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 2,286
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

ORIGINAL: ExFokkerFlyer

One thing to keep in mind with the aircraft weight is the actual wing loading. A 9 lb airplane could do well if the wing was proportionately smaller as well... you could make do with less power, or less power consumption, in the verticals but you would also still have the higher wing loading for gusty conditions. A super light version of a plane that normally weighs 5 kg would indeed be a handful in wind.

Of course in my case it's all theoretical anyway... the only way I could get that light is to leave off a wing or something!
He was running the smaller hacker (C50 xxL rather than XL I think) and small packs, cant remember the prop or anything else...even in the calmer weather of the semi's the plane just didnt seem to be locked in at all. Phillipe is a good pilot and I think it hurt his positioning this year. Plane was a PL Lazulite so its no small model either

Most of the planes are running in the 80-90 sq-in/lb range...I think thats a good target.....the wings keep getting smaller though Every time ZN makes a new design the wings are just a little bit smaller Eventually it will make sense to be 9 lbs!
Old 01-18-2006, 08:15 PM
  #32  
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 751
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

No... the Laz is NOT a small plane... wow, that's pretty light for that design. I have overheard conversations of those much smarter and experienced than me (i.e. not my own conclusion) that particularly with the widebody design there is a such thing as 'too light' and with these huge fuselages you'll feel every bump and dip in the air. Something like a Laz I would think would really be thrown around in the wind if it was too light. But again, not really a concern for me given my heavy handed building!

An 18x12 on a /F3A motor? That's pretty small, I would be really interested in seeing some numbers and impressions of the flight performance. When switching from the /18 to the /F3A and using the same prop you are going to have less power. You are going up in wind so you can turn a larger prop without drawing excessive current. On a /18 turning a 22x12 at sea level is something like 100 amps (never tried it... but at 5000' it is around 89 amps), the /F3A turns it at 85 amps. I'm running a 20x13 with my /F3A and though I'm happy with the performance, I'm not done experimenting. Would like to here some other results as it appears there are only a couple running here in the states so far.
Old 01-18-2006, 08:44 PM
  #33  
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (1)
 
RC_Pattern_Flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,119
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

My new Insight (IC version) is siting at 9 lb 14 oz and i feel the electric will be the same if i can use the smaler packs. In regards to wing loading.. the wing area is 890 in.

This may end up being a project for the "year" as i am somewhat commited to building a prototype for a new design. probably won't be electric as weight is a serious concern.

I will kep you posted as to what i find out about the lighter packs.. so far i can only find Duralite to be he only one importing 20c 5s1p packs 3700 mah. i know this size pack does not relate to most of you as you fly more demanding sequences but for the lower classes i think it helps bring the cost down significantly. relatively speaking. (grin)

i enjoy reading everyones experiences as it makes it easier to make those hard decisions!!

Chuck
Old 01-18-2006, 10:19 PM
  #34  
My Feedback: (1)
 
can773's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Calgary, AB, CANADA
Posts: 2,286
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

ORIGINAL: ExFokkerFlyer

No... the Laz is NOT a small plane... wow, that's pretty light for that design. I have overheard conversations of those much smarter and experienced than me (i.e. not my own conclusion) that particularly with the widebody design there is a such thing as 'too light' and with these huge fuselages you'll feel every bump and dip in the air. Something like a Laz I would think would really be thrown around in the wind if it was too light. But again, not really a concern for me given my heavy handed building!
Should see on the Twister, its a giant compared to the Enigma (which is not small either).....Twister fuse is the same weight, wings are smaller but thicker (nearly 15% at the tips)....so weight should be relatively the same....say 10.5. Area is something like 890-900 for the exposed portion of the wing. How it deals with wind we will see....its basically the same wing as on the Oxalys and it was dead solid in the wind in France I hope this will be the same

I will kep you posted as to what i find out about the lighter packs.. so far i can only find Duralite to be he only one importing 20c 5s1p packs 3700 mah. i know this size pack does not relate to most of you as you fly more demanding sequences but for the lower classes i think it helps bring the cost down significantly. relatively speaking. (grin)
Chuck, have a read over on wattflyer.com about the Evo20 packs....I think the conclusion is they are the same manufacturer as the new Polyquest XP's (Enerland)....so the PQ 3700 and the Evo20 3700 packs would be identical....although I beleive there is some debate as to which ones are built better. Anyways where is a huge thread about them there. RC-Tester is the username of one of the guys invovled in the thread if you just want to search it out. Hobby-Lobby distributes PQ packs in the US I think.

My glow and electric Enigma's weighed within 2 oz of each other....built 2 years apart with identical radio and control gear....140DZ blah blah blah. So you should with the lighter packs have no problem matching the weight of your electric to your IC. BTW my electric Enigmas started to be built as glow and converted halfway through....nothing was lightened for the electrics...they were build for the 160DZ's intially.
Old 01-18-2006, 10:25 PM
  #35  
My Feedback: (11)
 
patternflyer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 2,080
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

I've got real confused on who is actually running the Axi F3A. I keep getting info in here confused.
And yes, I should be painting the Eclipse Tom....
It's not quite warm enough to open the garage door for ventilation. And I don't have a $1000 oxygen suit. I wish I did. I'll just take another month off of my life for this plane..
Had to go with ppg didn't I? lol.
Old 01-18-2006, 10:47 PM
  #36  
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 751
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

I'll just take another month off of my life for this plane..
But that month comes off at the END... you don't want that month anyway, lots of diapers, not keeping food down, not understanding anything... kind of like the first month... I say hold your breath and go for it!
Old 01-18-2006, 10:50 PM
  #37  
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 751
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

I've heard that there are going to be other dealers for those batteries. It's also my understanding (again what I heard) that the PQ and the Duralite Flight Powers, and the Hobby Lobby brands are all the same... just marketed under different names. My Dad has used a 3s1p 3700 in an E3D and loves the power... lighter than and much more powerful than the TP's they replaced... but those were also Gen IIs...

I would like to try a set, might be interesting.
Old 01-18-2006, 11:06 PM
  #38  
My Feedback: (22)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 193
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

I had the Polyquest 4400 mah cells in my E3D and they worked AWESOME !

I was thinking I could use the 3700 mah cells to power a 1.4 sized Funtana that was built from an original kit, using the AXI 5330/F3A motor.
But Hobby Lobby only shows them being available in up to 4 in series. I need two packs of 5 in series.
Anyone know where I can get the 3700 mah cells , 5 in series ?

Barry Finck
Enola, PA
USA
Old 01-18-2006, 11:10 PM
  #39  
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 751
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

Duralite is taking orders for them now, and like I said there will likely be a few other dealers shortly, though they aren't official yet. Sounds like Flight Power is pushing to make a presence here in N. America. Hopefully we'll see some soon.
Old 01-19-2006, 09:58 AM
  #40  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wallisellen, SWITZERLAND
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

on the ground, it's pulling around 85A, so you really need the CC 110HV...the 85 will smoke sooner or later. but once running, it's hardly using more than 20 amps average. ok, it's not breaking like the big windmills on the new hacker combo, but hey, let's keep some dynamics in pattern flying! i'm using the 10S1P3700 polyquest cells, but i'm sure they are marketed under different labels elsewhere. they HAVE to be balanced and charged as 2 x 5S1P packs! a picture of the plane i'm flying is on the "my models" spec sheet. the herex-airframe is very light, less than 71 oz. complete with wheels, spats etc. but otherwise empty. in fact, as some other guy posted, you end up with a too light plane for windy wheather, at 9,5 lbs. so here comes my airbrush at over 1 lbs...something else: i'm using 2S2P2000 Lipo's on a 5,9V regulator for the receiver/servos, because i found out that the 5 x S9550digital Futaba's can draw quite a lot of current. at 5A, your average 4 or 5 nc pack can get very dangerous! have fun, roger
Old 01-19-2006, 06:20 PM
  #41  
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 751
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

Nice looking plane Roger! So are you saying the total weight is around 10.5? Which pattern are you flying, P07? Do you know how much you are putting back in your batteries after a flight?


If I thought there was any interest I could do a short little write up on what I just finished up... but for the airborne battery I'm using a TP 2s 730 mah pack. The other day I made six flights, when I recharged I put 243 mah back in, for an average of 40 mah per flight. I'm using 9550's on rudder and elevator, on aileron I have two 9650s. If there was any significant savings in doing so, I could go with a smaller receiver battery... but that would be only about 15 grams.
Old 01-20-2006, 06:58 AM
  #42  
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,672
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

Can

Evo 20 packs are made by "Flight Power" in the UK, Flight Power are marketed in the US by Duralite, but I do not know if they have the latest Evo 20's yet. Hope this helps.
I have two 5000mAh 3S2P Flight Power packs in an Graupner 300L Extra on an AXI 4130/16 turning a 15x10 with no problems so far, these packs have ballancing circuits which I think is the only way to ensure any length of service from these packs.

BTW the Evo 20 packs can be recognised by the fact they are long and slim, ie. different to all other lipos on the market at the moment. Pic shows 2500mAh 11.1 3S1P with ballancer.

Mike
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Nl30784.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	84.7 KB
ID:	391406  
Old 01-22-2006, 09:12 AM
  #43  
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Wallisellen, SWITZERLAND
Posts: 30
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

last season, i was flying P05. in calm weather, i recharged between 2500 and 2800 mAh. In windy conditions, with the 10S1P3700 i was forced to fly a bit smaller (that helps you not getting "gone with the wind" in crosswinds, anyway) and had to milk around 3300. seems the big cells are not that critical to stretching to their limits, because they are still very healthy after about 100 flights. i'm using the same packs seperately as 5S1P3700 also in other models like a Ultimate with 7 lbs with a Hyperion Z4035/10 on a 17x12 APC/E or a P-38 Lightning weighting 17 lbs with two of those engines/props. because of their size and shape, the packs are very versatile and you can charge them separately with a cheap 5S charger like the small hyperion with the balancer, althought at 5S, power output is limited to only 0,75C. but using 4 charger/balancer combos on one big AC converter, and charging through the balancer cables finally means you can safely walk away from the setup...btw, it's not the capacity drain i'm concerned about on the airborne R/C battery, but the immense drop in voltage that can happen if you're still using the good old nicads. on 5 S9550 digital servos at full 3D work, a 4-cell 1000mAh can drop from 4,8V to as low as 3,5V...which could trigger failsafe/reboot for a second or so...can be 100 feet of controlless flight...hate it!

today, i started work on a 2,45m Raven from Fly-Fan. it's again ultra-light at 147 oz. for the complete airframe with wheels and spinner! TOW with Steve Neu's BAM 1,5Y-Motor and 4 x TP5S4200 (that's actually already 2P2100, case you wondered...) turning an APC/E 26x15 should be less than 18 lbs, if i did not miss any parts on that kitchen scale... that monster combo should give more than twice the static thrust, i hope it's going to be a belter! APC/Landing guys, if you're listening: the slow turning big motors need more pitch, 15'' at 5000 Rpm gives us just 75 mph, that's scale speed ok, but boring! roger
Old 01-23-2006, 10:44 AM
  #44  
 
BaldEagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Kent, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 9,672
Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

Hi exver

Just got hold of the Medusa Resereach Analyser Pro seems to be a good piece of kit, I'm having some difficulty in getting the thrust cell to register on the PC other than that it seems fine, nice touch is the facility to control the ESC from the PC, don't need the transmitter and receiver to carry out tests, I have made my own thrust rig to use the analyser see pic below, the motor on the rig is a Mega 22/30/3E turning a 14.5x7 out of my hotlinner, quite a wind in my office all my papers went out the window, know better next time, no papers within 6M. Aurorra in England sell this set up, nice people to do buisness with as well.

I'v got an Graupner Extra 300L with an AXI 4130/16 turning a 15x10 on 6S2P, before I analise this one I think I ought to check the foundations of my shed.

Mike
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz77601.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	393580  
Old 01-23-2006, 11:39 AM
  #45  
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: marshall, VA
Posts: 85
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

Barry, you can get the PQ 3700 cells in 5s packs from aircraftworld in japan. They are a great source. You should get the hyperion vx 3700 packs(the blue green ones) they have welded tab construction and very low IR that will give better performance than the black PQ3700 packs.
The 5s3700 packs are $207 each and use the same blance connector as the PQ packs. The hyperion 6lba balancer works very well.
I am using these packs in a 10s setup with an axi 5320/28 in a cmp Giles 202 1.40 (11 lbs)

Kevin
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Bz77781.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	53.4 KB
ID:	393649  
Old 01-24-2006, 06:34 PM
  #46  
Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: , FL
Posts: 63
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

very interesting motor mount.. how is it working out and please describe the materials and weight?

Herm


ORIGINAL: PatternPilot

Hi chuck,

I'm using the 5330/18 motor with the CC HV85 and the CC HV110 and the APC E 18x12 prop with a 10s2p pack and drawing 68-69 amps turning 6500 rpms and putting out 2200 watts on a 11 lbs plane.
Old 02-26-2006, 01:27 PM
  #47  
hwt
Junior Member
My Feedback: (17)
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Reidsville, GA
Posts: 9
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

Hi electric pattern friends, I am new to the electric pattern scene and I have lost one phenom to static interference on my radio and would like to have some help so as to not loose another bird. I am very impressed with the power of the axi engines but have lots of trouble with radio interference. I am trying to fly an obsession with an axi 5330-18 engine with a jeti 90 speed control. I am using 3 packs of 3 cells each with a total volts of 33.3 and 5400 mah 8C. I have ran the speed control lead thru a radio shack choke but still get radio interference at anything over about 1500 rpms. I stand back with the antenna collapsed and can get only a few feet away before the radio and engine goes crazy. Any help with this problem would be greatly appreciated. thanks Harold... [email protected]
Old 02-26-2006, 09:13 PM
  #48  
My Feedback: (11)
 
patternflyer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 2,080
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

This may be a silly reply but, change the crystal first, then the reciever. Then, get your radio checked.
Do you have any pics of your installation? That would help greatly..
Chris
Old 02-26-2006, 10:04 PM
  #49  
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Clovis, CA
Posts: 751
Received 6 Likes on 5 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

PCM or PPM? If the glitching is bad enough it would still affect the PCM, but would be better in this application than PPM. Also, your radio instructions may tell you to leave one extention out when you collapse your antennae for the check... it depends on the radio.
Old 02-26-2006, 11:09 PM
  #50  
My Feedback: (11)
 
patternflyer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Tracy, CA
Posts: 2,080
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: AXI 5330/FAI

I was assuming ppm as it's glitching.
And, shouldn't you be in the garage Tom???
Chris

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.