Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Helis Discuss electric rc heli's such as the Piccolo, Logo 10, Logo 20, Hornet, Eco.

new

Search this Thread

Old 12-01-2004, 08:37 PM
rustler08-delete
Banned

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new

hi. i want to start with helis. i have no heli experience at all. and i want to teach my self. so which of these helis should i get?

[link=http://www.hobbyjapan2000.com/store/products.php?id=6]lotta helicopters[/link]
Old 12-01-2004, 11:41 PM
ozandy

Default RE: new

Rustler,

I'll start the ball rolling: Chances are you will want a Fixed Pitch (FP) heli to start with rather then a Collective Pitch (CP). The learning curve for helis is huge so don't think you will grow out of it too soon. FP are cheaper, easier to fly "out of the box" (without hours of tweaking to get flyable) and will allow you to hover indoors.
I have been told the Zoom/Zap 400 is too large for indoors, and its a more advanced CP 3D heli anyway, not a beginners heli.
Of the list on the page you linked to, I reckon only 1, 2 or 4. (4 may be the best quality, but this is based on heresay and BB list research only!)
Note that these are all "micro" helis which although cheap, are not the best for stability and as such are not ideal for learning. Having said that, the little ones are very cheap to both buy and repair. A larger trainer such as the famous "Corona" would seem to be more suitable, but it depends on your budget.
The only reason I got back into helis at all was because of the price and indoor ability; if this means a tradeoff in crashes and skill, so be it!
Best advice is use Google heaps and keep researching!
Old 12-01-2004, 11:48 PM
rustler08-delete
Banned

name other good ones too please.
Old 12-02-2004, 12:02 AM
ozandy

Sorry, my experience is limited to the Esky 3D in micro helis and an ancient un-named nitro heli. I have done many hours internet research however.