Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

Turbine Engine Build

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2011, 09:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Turbine Engine Build

Hi all,

Geoff from Australia.

I've been interested in jets for a long time and only realised in the last two years that it was possible to make a small one.
I have zero experience in R/C planes until last week using a buddy system.... my god its hard.

Click image for larger version

Name:	281851_10150254411534426_738414425_7513010_6175992_n.jpg
Views:	141
Size:	101.6 KB
ID:	2237049

My Trade as a Mechanical Designer/Engineer has helped somewhat.
This is a 3d build based on the KJ66 with some modifications to make it easier to fabricate. Most of it will be CNC as I can just send them the 3d file (Don't want to do much my self as I'm clumsy and a bit **** with my hands).

Name:	3d.jpg
Views:	5773
Size:	71.5 KB
ID:	2237050

Name:	closed.jpg
Views:	202
Size:	42.0 KB
ID:	2237051

At the present I'm looking at getting it made in China although I am struggling to find/contact one.

Ihave the bearings so far... haha as Iwork for SKF.
Old 08-16-2011, 05:31 PM
My Feedback: (22)

Default RE: Turbine Engine Build

Hi Geoff,

First of all, welcome to RCU.  The world of RC is a lot of fun.

That's an impressive design you have so far.  A few years ago I worked out most of the design for an axial flow turbine engine.  Never got around to building it, I think I may have been too ambitious with my machining expectations.  Turns out most of my parts weren't possible to build with the size and intricacies I needed. 

What rpm is it expected to run?  Auto-starting or manual?

P.S. since you work for SKF, maybe you can find out why no one ever responded to my inquiries about custom magnetic thrust bearings
Old 08-16-2011, 05:49 PM

Thanks,

I'm only 20 so theres no way I could Machine it, I'm useless with my hands.