Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

Future of EDF?

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2006, 05:57 AM
rjbob
My Feedback: (8)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Future of EDF?

I was able to attend the Arizona Jet Rally a couple of weeks ago. Although I'm a turbine modeler, I came away VERY impressed with some of the EDF's at the rally.

The 13 pound Jet Hangar International A-7 and the BVM T-33 both flew with authority and at good speeds. NOW WE'RE TALKING!

I'm thinking about pulling a few pounds of turbine related equipment out of a Y/A Starfire and installing an EDF system.

Any suggestions?
Old 12-05-2006, 06:37 AM
perttime

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Default RE: Future of EDF?

I just think that you are going to need a big stack of LiPo's, to power the big ESC, big motor and big fan.

It will not be cheap but I do not know how the cost stacks up with turbine power.

For small jets, EDF is really a no-brainer.

mmmmm, an airframe made for turbines, might be stronger/heavier than you need for EDF.
Old 12-05-2006, 08:37 AM
Larry Dudeck
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Bob Violet (BVM fame) seems to agree with you. He has (is?) developing an e-power conversion for some of his olger GDF models. Initial performance reports are very positive but I have heard grumbles about the price. But with BVM products, I have been told you get value for your investment.

I don't think EDF will replace turbines. With EDF power systems, the maximum thrust is developed on the ground. As the plane accelerates, the thrust is reduced until the thrust developed exactly equals the aerodynamic drag. Thus, the maximum velocity is self limiting.