Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric RC Jets
Reload this Page >

Glassing/Coating foam....

Community
Search
Notices
Electric RC Jets Discuss rc electric ducted fan or radio control prop jets here.

Glassing/Coating foam....

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2010, 06:54 PM
Draggy

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Glassing/Coating foam....

Hello,
I know this has been covered many times, but I needed some experienced opinions on what is best for coating or "glassing" epo foam on edf type airplanes? I have read of various techniques, but I feel I need more info. before I decide on which one to use. I mainly want more durability, as we all do. I am a longtime hobbyist, but new to foam edf's. Thanks for any help offered!

Draggy.
Old 07-02-2010, 09:49 AM
Ductedfann
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Glassing/Coating foam....

Hello Draggy,

With EPO foam any of the methods you have most likly seen will work fine for durability. If it's about hard landings, dings, and hanger rash type durability, you can use carbon fiber or balsa in the corners or in areas where you know you will have the greatest chance of impacts like the wing tips, leading edges, the tips of tail, (elevator, rudder), and the belly if you don't have landing gear.
Just keep in mind that all these things add weight to your foamy, which works against the beauty of foam planes, which was most likly designed to be inexpensive, quick, and easy to get into the air, and not to be a kit that you have to put a lot of work and time into. Another thing to consider is that you did purchase an EPO foam plane and EPO foam is considered pretty resiliant.

Morris, Ductedfans.com
Old 07-05-2010, 09:13 AM
MaxThrottle

If its just reducing foam rash and dings Polycrylic like Minwax is very easy to brush on. I light especially if sprayed or brushed on in thin coats.