Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Power generator

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2013, 04:41 PM
lopflyers
My Feedback: (12)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Power generator

Im new to electrics, one of the two fields I fly from ( the closest to home) don't have electricity. I carry a lawn mower battery but it doesn't like my 6 cells.No matter how much I charge that sucker it will give me an input error message. I was going to buy a bigger, maybe a car or truck battery but someone told me a power generator is a better idea.I found this in in Harbor Freight :63cc, 900 Watts Max/800 Watts Rated Portable Generator Is this any good for the field?Will it handle my 6 cells?Can I charge 4 batteries at the same time like I do at home?Thanks
Old 05-09-2013, 02:59 AM
Dayaks

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Power generator

Most likely - but what kind of charger do you have? If it's 600 watts or less I don't see why it shouldn't work.

Your lawn mower battery could probably put out around 50 watts continuous.
Old 05-12-2013, 08:29 AM
aeajr
My Feedback: (2)

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts

I just connect my charger to my car's battery. For most parkflyer batteries I can charge all day without concern.

That Harbor Freight generator will work but is noisy as can be.

I have also used car jumper packs. I have one hanging off the side of my workbench. Similar to this
http://www.amazon.com/Schumacher-IP-...=pd_sbs_auto_3

Unless you are flying REALLYbig planes with really big battery packs, use the car battery. Works fine.

Old 06-18-2013, 06:52 PM
chuckk2

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

The Harbor Freight generators can be bought currently for 99.95
The quieter generators start at about 600, and are inverter types. Nuf said.

The HF generators are 2 cycle and come from China..