Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Newbee needs help!!!

Old 11-23-2005, 07:18 PM
Alias1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbee needs help!!!

I'm new to electrics, I have a mini Edge 540 with a Park 400 brushless motor, 2100 LiPo and I was wondering, I have a Fataba 7 channel radio that I have been using for glow and gas planes, can I use one of the receivers I have for glow power planes with the electric or will I need to get a mini receiver? I understand about the weight difference in the two receivers.

Next question: I have a Park Zone 25A ESC will that work with this setup or will I need to use a Pack Zone receiver?

Thanks in advance,

You got to start somewhere!!!

Steve
Old 11-24-2005, 12:54 AM
WolfeWind

Default RE: Newbee needs help!!!

You should be able to use a receiver from a gas plane with no problems. The esc needs to either be programmable or must have the cut off voltage pre-set at a high enough level to protect the lipo. You don't want to discharge the lipo under 2.5 volts per cell. If your lipo is 2 cell it is likely that the esc is pre-programmed at close enough to 5 volts to be acceptable.
But it the lipo is 3 cell you need to set your cut off at a minimum of 7.5 volts. Most people actually use 3 volts per cell for cut offs just to be safe.

Lipo's need special handling to prevent fire and/or damage. Must be charged with a lipo charger at no more than a 1:1 ratio and must not be over discharged.
Old 11-26-2005, 04:27 PM
Matt Kirsch
My Feedback: (21)

Default RE: Newbee needs help!!!

Yep, there's no law saying you can't use a regular receiver, provided you're okay with the weight penalty, and the plane has space for it. There's nothing "electric-specific" about the smaller receivers, really, though some wouldn't be a good idea to use with glow planes due to limited range and vibration resistance (i.e. GWS Pico receivers).