Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

Slow Fly Props Verus APC E- Props

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Slow Fly Props Verus APC E- Props

Search this Thread

Old 09-27-2007, 11:40 PM
Thomas33

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Slow Fly Props Verus APC E- Props

I am new to the electrics and would like to know what is the differance between the reglator electric props and the slow fly props.(VERY CONFUSSION) Crunnently flying a Mimi Funtanna, with a E-Flight park 480 motor. 40 amp esc,2100 Lipo Using a 11x5.5 APC E prop on it. Should it be a slow fly prop? Or is what I am using OK? Power is not that great, Currenting bulding a E-flight Brio 10. Can't decied whether to use the Park 480 or the Power 10 with this one??ANY SUGGESTION? Haven't a clue on what prop top use on it/ Any help to a newbie would be most welcome. Have flown nitro for 30 years. But this electric stuff is all new to me. Thanks for any suggestions
Old 09-28-2007, 04:49 PM
ozrcboy

Default RE: Slow Fly Props Verus APC E- Props

Hi Thomas,

Firstly - apart from the lower pitch the other difference between normal and slowflyer props (as I understand it anyway) is that slowflyer props are optimised for a lower airspeed. As you know the prop blades are actually little wings and so they will have an optimum speed at which they produce the most lift (ie thrust).

I would have thought the 11x5.5 would be fine with an eflite park 480 - however - it isn't exactly one of the recommended props. On the 920kv eflite 480 I used an 11x7 to get about 24A. If you have the clearnace you may find a 12x6 gives you the sort of thrust you are looking for. If you are after more speed, try an 11x7 or 10x8 even. By the way - it is a 3 cell LiPo right?

Cheers,
Oz.
Old 09-28-2007, 06:38 PM
Thomas33

Hi Oz