Go Back  RCU Forums > Electric Aircraft Universe > Electric Training
Reload this Page >

Electric Equivalent of .049?

Community
Search
Notices
Electric Training If you are new to electric learn more about them here or ask questions.

Electric Equivalent of .049?

Search this Thread

Old 02-21-2009, 11:43 AM
hallstro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Electric Equivalent of .049?

This question has likely been answered, but I am new to e-power.

When considering a glow conversion to e-power, what is the electric motor equivalent to the Cox 0.49 size engine? How are glow engine equivalents computed?

Thank-you.

Dave
Old 02-21-2009, 01:01 PM
Time Pilot

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Electric Equivalent of .049?

Pulled this off Wikipedia:

The Tee Dee was tested by Aeromodeller Magazine in 1962 and the output power was recorded to be .105 bhp (78 watts) @ 22,000 rpm with a max torque of 5.5 oz.in. at 18,000 rpm on 25% Nitro. [6] (Note: The modern Norvel AME 049 engine which has a ceramic coated aluminum piston outputs .2 bhp (150 watts)@ 17,000 rpm).

One horsepower = 746 Watts.

There are many factors to be considered when converting, propeller efficiency being one.

You're going to want to start looking in the 150 Watt class motor, and then either gearing the motor for the proper prop if you use an inrunner/brushed motor, or getting an outrunner with the appropriate kv (how many times the motor will turn per minute x the volts). A 1000 kv motor will spin 1000 times in a minute with one volt applied; 10,000 x per minute with 10V applied.

For fast planes, we choose higher kv's and smaller props, for slow flyers lower kv motors and larger props, and somewhere in between for those inbetween planes.

What kind of a plane are you trying to power?
The following users liked this post:
JanErikV (04-06-2020)
Old 02-21-2009, 06:16 PM
hallstro

Thanks for the info Time Pilot!