Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

Conversion for Texas Hurricane

Search this Thread

Old 12-07-2004, 01:08 AM
Texas1
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Conversion for Texas Hurricane

Newbie here. I did some searches in the forum, but did not get a good feel for the correct engine. I would like to convert a motor for use with a Texas Hurricane. The converting of a motor holds more enjoyment for me than a ready to bolt on motor. Also I am mostly a heli guy. Just started flying planks on the side this year , but ready to move up from the 60 size. Found some Mikitas, but I don't think they are enough CC. I believe the models are 250 & 251 line trimmer motors. Anyway any info or suggestion in the direction to go are much appreciated.
Old 12-07-2004, 01:35 AM
Antique
My Feedback: (4)

Default RE: Conversion for Texas Hurricane

A Homelite 25 from a $49.95 weedeater makes a good one to start on...8000+ rpm with a 18 inch prop.....Easy conversion....
Old 12-07-2004, 01:52 AM
KenLambert
My Feedback: (107)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

A poulan 54cc is perfect for the texas hurrican there is one being flown by the famed FlipFlop and it flys great

Buy the way if you run into Carl Orbison would you have him give me a call ? I don't have his # sense he moved to his new house .

and I don't think the 25cc will do this plane justice if it will fly it
Old 12-07-2004, 02:04 AM
Volfy
My Feedback: (23)

A good friend of mine flies a Texas Hurricane with a CH ign equipped Poulan 46cc. IMHO you need to keep the engine package less than 4lbs to do well.
Old 12-07-2004, 02:31 AM
Antique
My Feedback: (4)

Sorry, didn't know what size the Texas Hurricane is...DUH....
Old 12-07-2004, 09:47 AM
Texas1