Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

Zenoah 25.4 cc Fires ATDC?

Search this Thread

Old 12-23-2004, 01:44 AM
sides7
My Feedback: (9)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Zenoah 25.4 cc Fires ATDC?

Having problems getting a Zenoah 25.4 cc engine from a Redmax weedeater to run. During the trouble shooting decided to see about
where the factory timing is set. Verified that the flywheel is positioned with the key in the slot & located TDC using a pencil. I am baffled, because it appears the magnets don't cross under the coil untill several (20+ degrees) ATDC. This is of course when turning the engine in the CCW direction. I'm no expert, but baised on all the good data I've reading in this forum - timing should be about 28 degrees BTDC. If that is true, either this engine runs CW, or the there has been slippage on driveshaft, changing the drive shaft/piston relationship. I even called a local Redmax service/repair tech. who said that it does fire about 25 degrees ATDC. Doesn,t sound logical to me. Can anyone shed some light on this?

Sides7

Forgot to tell you this is one of the newer Redmax Stratocharged engines with a clean environment type carburator.
Old 12-23-2004, 02:40 AM
Antique
My Feedback: (4)

Default RE: Zenoah 25.4 cc Fires ATDC?

Impossible...Spark that far ATDC will not fire the charge in the cylinder, there's no compression left...It must run the other way....
Local repair shop must not know how gas engines run....
Easy enough to check, crank it the other way...
Old 12-23-2004, 09:45 AM
Antique

RCIGN, Isn't there some way to determine which way a magneto engine is set-up to run based on the prongs of the coil ? Long prong vs short prong ?
Old 12-23-2004, 11:13 AM
Antique