Notices
Engine Conversions Discuss all aspects of engine conversions in this forum

Flywheel balancing

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2007, 01:48 PM
cfaw10

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Flywheel balancing

I'm new to the conversion thing, but was under the impression that if a flywheel was faced off on a lathe, it would stay in balance. I purchased a new converted homey 33. Flywheel had been faced, not sawed and sanded. Engine had a bad vibration at all speeds (prop is well balanced), so I removed the flywheel and checked it on a dubro prop balancer. It was severly out of balance. After correcting this, the engine runs much smoother.
Just thought I'd throw that out there. Some others may want to check their's as well.
Old 04-16-2007, 01:54 PM
davewallace
My Feedback: (29)

Default RE: Flywheel balancing

cfaw,
All that facing does is retain the state of balance before facing. How easy is it to start your 33cc?

Dave
Old 04-16-2007, 02:09 PM
cfaw10

Have not been able to start it by hand. No problem with a 24 volt drill.
Old 04-16-2007, 02:09 PM
Tmoth4
My Feedback: (1)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

ORIGINAL: cfaw10

I'm new to the conversion thing, but was under the impression that if a flywheel was faced off on a lathe, it would stay in balance. I purchased a new converted homey 33. Flywheel had been faced, not sawed and sanded. Engine had a bad vibration at all speeds (prop is well balanced), so I removed the flywheel and checked it on a dubro prop balancer. It was severly out of balance. After correcting this, the engine runs much smoother.
Just thought I'd throw that out there. Some others may want to check their's as well.
That's good to know. I'm going to go back and check mine.

Jim
Old 04-16-2007, 04:01 PM
av8tor1977
My Feedback: (6)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

It's probably a good idea to check the flywheel balance on any mag equipped engine....

AV8TOR
Old 04-16-2007, 05:28 PM
Typhoon pilot
My Feedback: (3)