Notices
Everything Diesel Discuss R/C Diesel engines here.

help with prop sizes

Old 10-25-2009, 05:52 PM
joepage2008x2

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default help with prop sizes

Hi, i have just bought a PAW 35 diesel engine and the rec. prop size is 11/6 to 14/6 i bought a 11/8 prop for the engine. I am a model engineer and will be making twin engines, so the total engine size will be 70ci. What prop size should i use for this engine, the propellor is mainly to give some torque behind the engine and may not be used in a plane, also this engine will be diesel so will have higher torque and lower rpms compared to the nitro engines. So please dont rec. a prop size from a table like this as the table below is for nitro

help will be appreciated, im new to the aero stuff and just need the right proprange for the engines im going to make
Old 10-25-2009, 06:25 PM
Motorboy

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: help with prop sizes

Hi, use this programme ThrustHP V 2.0d to learn out which propeller will give most thrust or Hp in measured rpm and the propeller are selected.. [sm=thumbup.gif]

The link: http://www.hoppenbrouwer-home.nl/ika...rusthpv20d.htm
Old 10-25-2009, 06:41 PM
joepage2008x2

Hi, thanks for the link to the program but my computer will not install it, is there any other software that you know of that does the same. thanks
Old 10-26-2009, 12:11 AM
Motorboy

ORIGINAL: joepage2008x2

Hi, thanks for the link to the program but my computer will not install it, is there any other software that you know of that does the same. thanks
Or use Excel Spreadsheet calculator for engine power and prop rpm power calculations, go to this link: http://mvvs.nl/utilities.htm
Old 10-26-2009, 03:56 AM
Mr Cox

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts