Notices
Extreme Speed Prop Planes Discuss the need for speed with fast prop planes (Screamin Demon, Diamond Dust, Shrikes or any REAL sound breakin'''' plane)

F-15 Greatplanes

Old 04-14-2005, 06:04 AM
  #1  
Neil Guildford
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Guildford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 555
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default F-15 Greatplanes

I have just bought a second hand F-15 from greatplanes which I am going to recover, maybe spray paint, but can't decide what engine to put in. I fly from a grass strip and the model is currently fitted with an Irvine 53. The model has retracts and weighs 8lb 8oz.
I think that flaps may have to be installed.
The problem I have is the plane is nose heavy and a larger engine will enivitably be carrying more weight in the tail.
Has anyone got any experience with this model?

Neil
Old 04-14-2005, 08:25 AM
  #2  
CRFlyer
Senior Member
 
CRFlyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 314
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

I have one of the GP f-15's. Mine is built mostly stock except that I added a hatch up front to get at the nose wheel/steering mechanism. I have a o.s 46fx on mine and I can say it is not enough engine to pull the plane around IMHO. I also had problems with the bird being nose heavy. I solved the problem by moving the battery pack to the extreme tail of the fuselage.

My guess is you will need to add some weight to the tail to get it to balance correctly with a larger engine.
Old 04-14-2005, 09:04 AM
  #3  
johntheroadie
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 94
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

I have a F-15 currently. Like CRFlyer, I also had problems with it being nose heavy. Matter of fact, I flew it all last year with a nose heavy condition. I even cut a hatch out in the tail of the airplane to fit my battery, but it still needs some more weight back there. Even with that issue, it flies predictably....it's not going to blow you away, rather, it's almost as docile as a trainer. Lands better than a trainer too, in my opinion. I have too much rudder throw on mine and it does strange things at full deflection, so keep them low. Conversely, mine requires a lot of elevator to rotate, but I think that's mostly due to the heavy nose. I have a Thunder tiger .46 pro on it and I think that it pulls it around okay, but it definately won't win any speed records.

I also fly from grass, and had a lot of problems with ground clearance and the grass beating my landing gear to death, so after the canopy parted company with the airplane on that last flight of the season, I intended to do a lot of revisions to it this year...namely to fix the nose heavy condition, fit larger wheels, longer/stronger landing gear, reinforce the nose gear former, and put a new canopy on. Unfortunately things have came up this year (namely a baby) and I haven't had a chance to finish working on it. So sadly, I can't report on how it flies right now with those problems (hopefully) corrected.

Neil, if you can, I'd like to see pictures of your retract setup in your airplane. The fixed gear looks goofy on mine!

Best wishes!
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ge94747.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	117.9 KB
ID:	258092   Click image for larger version

Name:	Oj26828.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	63.4 KB
ID:	258093   Click image for larger version

Name:	Xc79227.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	72.7 KB
ID:	258094  
Old 04-14-2005, 11:51 AM
  #4  
magnumeng
Senior Member
My Feedback: (8)
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sneads Ferry, NC
Posts: 110
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

Would a tuned pipe help move the weight back some to help wout with the nose heaviness of the plane?
Old 04-14-2005, 11:57 AM
  #5  
RANIERY
My Feedback: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: davie, FL
Posts: 175
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

hello guys, i have i Gp f-15 to but in the building and moving process i lost all the wood for the wing so i'm stuck with the fuse.
anybody can help with a set of wing kit or something. tower don't sells them no more. thanks
Old 04-14-2005, 02:27 PM
  #6  
Neil Guildford
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Guildford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 555
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

I have put the battery and elevator servo in the tail. I did that last night while reducing slop in the movement.
Can someone please tell me where the CG is.
Neil
Old 04-14-2005, 02:42 PM
  #7  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

ORIGINAL: Neil Guildford
Can someone please tell me where the CG is.
You can download the manual here: http://www.greatplanes.com/manuals/discontinued.html
Old 04-14-2005, 02:50 PM
  #8  
davbow
Senior Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: sioux falls, SD
Posts: 159
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

I had 2 of them... I thought they flew great.. Not a speed demon of course but landings were fun!!! and easy....
i had an os 46fx with tuned pipe.... problem is the fake inlets act like big speed brakes.....i always wondered if you opened them up and make a flow through ducting.... if it would make any difference... i did have to add weight to the back.... she did flat spins very well with the cg moved aft...
it was a great intro into delta wing flying.
Old 04-14-2005, 06:00 PM
  #9  
Neil Guildford
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Guildford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 555
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

Thanks for the link but it talks about relating to the plan. Can someone give me a measurment from the wing leading edge where it meets the fuz.
Thanks, Neil
Old 04-14-2005, 06:18 PM
  #10  
hattend
My Feedback: (20)
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Kotzebue, AK
Posts: 2,424
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes


ORIGINAL: Neil Guildford

Thanks for the link but it talks about relating to the plan. Can someone give me a measurment from the wing leading edge where it meets the fuz.
Thanks, Neil
Well, On page 47 it says the balance point is where the "main spar intersects rib #5" to start with and then plus or minus 1/2" after test flight. Find that junction and draw a line 90 degrees to the root rib to that point. Then balance on the line.

Don
Old 04-14-2005, 06:36 PM
  #11  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

ORIGINAL: Neil Guildford

Thanks for the link but it talks about relating to the plan. Can someone give me a measurment from the wing leading edge where it meets the fuz.
Thanks, Neil
Oops, my bad. I forgot about that part. I looked up the measurements I did for someone on usenet in December. This is taken from the plans I have. It obviously assumes that your plane was built according to the plans. The CG range is 114-139 mm back from the where the wing contacts the fuse. From the rear of the wing, again, where it contacts the fuse, the CG range is 259-284 mm forward.
Old 04-14-2005, 10:29 PM
  #12  
lenjr
My Feedback: (4)
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: NY
Posts: 7
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

Dear Sir:

Do you know where I might buy a Great Planes F/15 Eagle?

Here is my email address - [email protected]

Thank You
Leonard jr.
Old 04-14-2005, 10:46 PM
  #13  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

Sent a PM to you Leonard.
Old 04-15-2005, 07:17 AM
  #14  
Neil Guildford
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Guildford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 555
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

Thanks Chuck. On my plane I can't feel the ribs.
I'll post a picture soon of the retracts.
Neil
Old 04-15-2005, 09:49 AM
  #15  
vicman
My Feedback: (10)
 
vicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Valdese, NC
Posts: 9,910
Likes: 0
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

Hey Chuck, are you holdin out on me?![X(]
Old 04-18-2005, 02:39 PM
  #16  
Neil Guildford
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Guildford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 555
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

I'm recovering it at the moment so I will show you a picture of the closing doors later.
Neil
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Zx72240.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	259815   Click image for larger version

Name:	Sn41999.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	78.2 KB
ID:	259816  
Old 04-18-2005, 02:48 PM
  #17  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

Vic, holdin out? Whatever would you mean?
Old 04-19-2005, 03:04 PM
  #18  
johntheroadie
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 94
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

Thanks for the pics, Neil! It is very much appreciated!

I've never seen an GP F-15 with retracts, so I was wanting to see how it would be done. If I ever get ambitious, I'd like to retrofit retracts in mine as well...
Old 04-20-2005, 01:53 AM
  #19  
f104g
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: BrisbaneQueensland, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 68
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

Both of my GP F-15's flew with an OS 61SF. I put some additional weight in the tail area to balance it up to the correct place...

They both flew very well and lasted me for years.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Mk26095.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	77.1 KB
ID:	260407   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk31880.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	20.8 KB
ID:	260408  
Old 04-20-2005, 05:02 AM
  #20  
Neil Guildford
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Guildford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 555
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

Does anyone know of one fitted with flaps? I'm about to start on stripping the wing back and am considering putting some on. The only problem is it will more than likely make the plane around 9lb. On an Irvine 53 this may be a problem.
Neil
Old 04-20-2005, 05:58 AM
  #21  
Neil Guildford
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Guildford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 555
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

ok, this is really strange. I have removed over 6oz of lead from the tail and put the battery in the far back. I moved a servo back for the elevator and I have a plane now that is tail heavy, by a long way. Either the last owner was flying this thing tail heavy or my change in layout has made a huge difference.
Not that I don't beleive your CG measurment Chuck, but can someone else verify where their F15 is flying at, please?
What I'm considering is whether this plane can be flown way back on the CG, and maybe this helps for take-off from grass.

Neil
Old 04-20-2005, 07:08 AM
  #22  
piper_chuck
My Feedback: (12)
 
piper_chuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 8,039
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

ORIGINAL: Neil Guildford
Not that I don't beleive your CG measurment Chuck, but can someone else verify where their F15 is flying at, please?
No problem, I got the measurements from the plans for my unbuilt F-15 kit. I need to check out some other things in the kit, I'll double check my measurements while I do that. I may even be able to scan that part of the plans. If I haven't posted by tomorrow, send me a PM as a reminder.
Old 04-21-2005, 11:50 AM
  #23  
Neil Guildford
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Guildford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 555
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

Slowly getting there.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Xv62971.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	90.4 KB
ID:	260987   Click image for larger version

Name:	Pk31341.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	46.7 KB
ID:	260988  
Old 04-22-2005, 05:38 PM
  #24  
Neil Guildford
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Guildford, UNITED KINGDOM
Posts: 555
Received 19 Likes on 15 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

One with the wing. I've decided against flaps as the ailerons aren't big enough in my opinion to be split in half. Instead I will use 2 servos in the center of the wing to give flapperon movement when needed.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq46114.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	35.4 KB
ID:	261534  
Old 04-22-2005, 09:57 PM
  #25  
johntheroadie
Member
My Feedback: (6)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 94
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: F-15 Greatplanes

Okay, I'll try something...

I dug out my old plans and scanned them on my home scanner to see how they'd come out. I didn't resize them or anything but here are the plan sections that show the CG range on the F-15... Maybe they can be of some help.
I'm sorry I can't give you a good CG measurement from my F-15. Given the recent changes, I wouldn't trust it until its has been flown and proven. []

I think adding a second aileron servo is a good idea. The F-15 is coming along very well, Neil! Looks good!

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Sq47887.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	56.9 KB
ID:	261631   Click image for larger version

Name:	Zb89881.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	56.8 KB
ID:	261632  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.