Community
Search
Notices
Foamies! - RC Electric Foam Aircraft Discuss rc foamie electrics here (i.e. Zagi, Tazz, ProJeti, wingo)

Zagi XS battery concerns

Search this Thread

Old 10-09-2006, 08:13 PM
McGragger

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Zagi XS battery concerns

First of all let me just say that I am an absolute beginner. This is my very first plane. I had a pro fly the plane for me and a freshly charged battery did not seem to have enough power. We replaced the battery with his 12v Lipo battery and were able to get it off the ground and flying. After about 10 minutes the motor burnt out on me. The kit comes with a KAN 1800mah NIMH 8 Cell Battery and the charger is a PF-12 Park Flyer AC/DC Peak Charger. The charger has a 90 minute shutoff. No matter how long I am charging, using anything between 250 to 1800, I never seem to see the peak charge lite come on. So my questions are... What am I doing wrong when charging my batteries? Shouldn't the stock batteries have plenty of power? Why would my motor have burnt out with the Lipo, is it because the motor is 6v, if so, what volts are my current batteries? What kind of light weight Lipo, or any battery for that matter, should I replace the stock ones with and do I need a different ESC?
Old 10-10-2006, 06:44 AM
exeter_acres
My Feedback: (2)

Default RE: Zagi XS battery concerns

if the charger shuts off after 90 minutes (timer) then the battery is never getting a full charge...
yes, 3 cell lipo's will burn out the stock motor quickly.. they just can't handle the voltage for long periods

I converted mine to brushless.
I use a mega 1615/4 motor with 2100mAh 3cell lipos... and it moves along quite nicely
Old 10-10-2006, 08:17 PM
Ronbo
My Feedback: (12)