Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > FPV, UAV & Drones
Reload this Page >

what would a good platform be

Community
Search
Notices
FPV, UAV & Drones Discuss all aspects of First Person View (FPV), Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAV) and Drones in this forum

what would a good platform be

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2010, 10:16 PM
magnum500

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default what would a good platform be

i stumbled across some first person video (fpv) i`ve been toying with the idea for some time . now i think it is time to try my hand at this new part of the hobby .i know this is a uav forum , but whats the differance ? my question is what is a good electric sailplane to start with ? i am not at all anewb to flying but i am a newb to sail planes . i was thinking learn to fly the sail plane then build a fpv craft from there . any help or direction is appreciated .
Old 03-03-2010, 12:25 AM
mboland

Default RE: what would a good platform be

The plane of choice for many, especially to start with, is the Multiplex EasyStar.

I have them a good stable platform for starting, then using them for testing systems.

Add a decent brushless and LiPo and they perform quite well, and are light enough to catch thermals with a basic FPV setup, and tough enough to take the knocks, especially when learning to land using FPV :-)
Old 03-03-2010, 07:34 AM
magnum500

ORIGINAL: mboland

The plane of choice for many, especially to start with, is the Multiplex EasyStar.

I have them a good stable platform for starting, then using them for testing systems.

Add a decent brushless and LiPo and they perform quite well, and are light enough to catch thermals with a basic FPV setup, and tough enough to take the knocks, especially when learning to land using FPV :-)
thanks for the input , i was thinking the same , how hard is it to land a fpv plane ?
Old 03-03-2010, 02:54 PM
mboland

I actually find it easier than standard RC.