Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Filling the tank.

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2011, 09:35 PM
CustomPC

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Filling the tank.

I'm relatively new to gas planes and have a question about filling the tank.

I see lots of pictures of two line tanks with a clunk line that has a 'T' piece for filling from the carb feed line.

Wouldn't filling the tank through the carb feed line have potential to introduce contaminants on the wrong side of the clunk filter?

Old 07-24-2011, 09:47 PM
MetallicaJunkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default RE: Filling the tank.

you can use a 2 line set up just make sure you dont fill into an inline fuel filter, as that can cause what you just mentioned...... fill straignt into the tank, and the inline fuel filter should be on the other side of the tee

im not sure i explained it clearly
Old 07-24-2011, 09:59 PM
av8tor1977
My Feedback: (6)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

A three line system is really better. One uninterrupted line with a clunk filter to the carb from the tank. One vent, and one dedicated fill/empty line, which is plugged off after use. The fill/empty line must either be at the bottom of the tank, or have a clunk line on it too to actually be used to empty the tank.

A two line system used properly works ok, but you often introduce air into the system when fueling, and that can cause hard starting sometimes.

AV8TOR
Old 07-24-2011, 11:06 PM
Tired Old Man
My Feedback: (1)

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

If you also have a filter in the bulk can, where's there any problem? You do have a filter in the can, right?
Old 07-25-2011, 05:01 AM
karolh

Received 33 Likes on 32 Posts