Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

RcExcel Ignition version - DLE 20

Old 03-03-2014, 06:01 AM
  #1  
Bob Pastorello
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (198)
 
Bob Pastorello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 6,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RcExcel Ignition version - DLE 20

Forgive if already covered elsewhere, pls. Need to confirm whether my DLE 20 has the ignition "with" the step-hold timing or not? Is there a version code marked that would let me know? Is there a "for sure" method to test for the advance curve to be sure?
Old 03-03-2014, 08:43 AM
  #2  
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,575
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

The old DLE #4 is the "Step Down" ignition.

The ignitions from RCEXL and branded as RCEXL are not step down types.
Old 03-03-2014, 08:46 AM
  #3  
Bob Pastorello
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (198)
 
Bob Pastorello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 6,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks. Mine is marked 'DL Power", does not have a "#4" (or other numbers), but is marked "A-02".
Any idea what I have?
Old 03-03-2014, 08:59 AM
  #4  
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Des Moines, IA
Posts: 5,130
Likes: 0
Received 23 Likes on 23 Posts
Default

The Rcexl A-02 version is the newer one that should be marked to accept up to 8.4 Volts. This should have an acceptable advance (retard) curve and not be like the previous #4 supplied with the 20.
Old 03-03-2014, 10:23 AM
  #5  
Bob Pastorello
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (198)
 
Bob Pastorello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 6,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Truckracer View Post
The Rcexl A-02 version is the newer one that should be marked to accept up to 8.4 Volts. This should have an acceptable advance (retard) curve and not be like the previous #4 supplied with the 20.
Thanks, TR - mine isn't marked RcExl, but DL Power, with the A-02, but also is marked 4.8 - 8.4v....I'm assuming that even though not marked RC Exl, it is in fact theirs, just badged for DLE ?
Old 03-03-2014, 10:51 AM
  #6  
w8ye
My Feedback: (16)
 
w8ye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Shelby, OH
Posts: 37,575
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default

correct
Old 03-03-2014, 03:39 PM
  #7  
BarryReade
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,495
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

I also have a new DLE 20 with the model A-02 ignition. This is also my first Gasser and I don't see any actual instructions on how to deal with the ignition. I have read Gassers for Dummies and a lot of other info and talked to Gas guys but it would sure be nice if anyone could direct me to the correct thread for ignitions.
Old 03-03-2014, 04:21 PM
  #8  
Bob Pastorello
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (198)
 
Bob Pastorello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 6,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BarryReade View Post
I also have a new DLE 20 with the model A-02 ignition. This is also my first Gasser and I don't see any actual instructions on how to deal with the ignition. I have read Gassers for Dummies and a lot of other info and talked to Gas guys but it would sure be nice if anyone could direct me to the correct thread for ignitions.
Barry - anyone on here would be able to assist. General setup guidelines are in my sticky post at the top of the forum (with other contributions included). If you have any specific questions, just fire away!
Old 03-03-2014, 04:42 PM
  #9  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,804
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Bob, the 8.4 volt capacity is your assurance you don't have that "step". Those are ONLY on the 4.8v. modules.
Old 03-03-2014, 06:36 PM
  #10  
BarryReade
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,495
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bob Pastorello View Post
Barry - anyone on here would be able to assist. General setup guidelines are in my sticky post at the top of the forum (with other contributions included). If you have any specific questions, just fire away!
Thanks Bob, I have read your thread multiple times and have learned a lot from it. I have a zillion questions but having been around for a while I just don't want to inundate the Gas Forums with 932 questions all at once. I figure lurking, listening, asking questions at my club and with my other RC friends that are into Gassers and I will get there without being to obnoxious. I know there are a lot of guys here to help and that is why I am here.
Old 03-03-2014, 06:39 PM
  #11  
BarryReade
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,495
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ahicks View Post
Bob, the 8.4 volt capacity is your assurance you don't have that "step". Those are ONLY on the 4.8v. modules.
So having the A-02 module that is rated for up to 8.4v means I can dive the ignition directly with a 2 cell lipo? I just need a mechanical switch, optical switch, and a lipo of??? 1800, 2200, 3000 mah?

I am always appreciative of comments, suggestions, and assessments.
Old 03-03-2014, 07:01 PM
  #12  
Bob Pastorello
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (198)
 
Bob Pastorello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 6,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ahicks View Post
Bob, the 8.4 volt capacity is your assurance you don't have that "step". Those are ONLY on the 4.8v. modules.
That,s the news I was hoping for! Thanks!!
Old 03-03-2014, 07:09 PM
  #13  
Bob Pastorello
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (198)
 
Bob Pastorello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 6,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by BarryReade View Post
So having the A-02 module that is rated for up to 8.4v means I can dive the ignition directly with a 2 cell lipo? I just need a mechanical switch, optical switch, and a lipo of??? 1800, 2200, 3000 mah?

I am always appreciative of comments, suggestions, and assessments.
Exactly. Most would agree that higher mah is good thing. Since it is a very good idea to have on board kill, I would go with the Rcexcel optical kill/switch. Battery to fuse mounted mechanical switch; out from that to optical switch IN, optical switch OUT to Ignition module power input.
That configuration is my preference;there are many different ways to get same results.
Old 03-03-2014, 08:48 PM
  #14  
bcchi
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: riverton., WY
Posts: 975
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by Bob Pastorello View Post
Thanks, TR - mine isn't marked RcExl, but DL Power, with the A-02, but also is marked 4.8 - 8.4v....I'm assuming that even though not marked RC Exl, it is in fact theirs, just badged for DLE ?
You have the new RCEXL ignition,Works great on DL 20 or any other engine.Use at least 6 volts on this unit.
BCCHI
Old 03-04-2014, 03:33 AM
  #15  
Bob Pastorello
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (198)
 
Bob Pastorello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 6,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, Bill...I use 6v throughout these days, so that's good.
Old 03-04-2014, 04:47 AM
  #16  
ahicks
My Feedback: (2)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Waterford, Mi/Citrus Springs, Fl
Posts: 3,804
Received 14 Likes on 13 Posts
Default

Single A123/Life supplying power to the entire flight pack is a pretty popular setup.
Old 03-04-2014, 04:56 AM
  #17  
Bob Pastorello
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (198)
 
Bob Pastorello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 6,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by ahicks View Post
Single A123/Life supplying power to the entire flight pack is a pretty popular setup.
Yup - been using that before we knew they would destroy the early ignitions due to over-voltage (not)
Right now, it's hard to beat a straight LiFe setup, providing servos are up to the 6.6v. Believe it or not, some not-so-name-brand but high quality servos really HATE 6.6 v. That was interesting to learn...
Old 03-04-2014, 05:08 AM
  #18  
BarryReade
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,495
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Most of my Rx batts are 2 cell lipos running through a Losi 6v regulator that will flow 5a continuously. I just need to check and make sure it will flow enough current. How much current do these ignitions need?
Old 03-04-2014, 06:23 AM
  #19  
Bob Pastorello
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (198)
 
Bob Pastorello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 6,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Page 5 - 6 has a real good setup picture and explanation - http://manuals.hobbico.com/dle/dleg0435-manual.pdf which applies to any of these smaller setups.
Old 03-04-2014, 06:59 AM
  #20  
BarryReade
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,495
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Bob, they also have one for the 20 LINK
Old 03-04-2014, 07:13 AM
  #21  
kmeyers
 
kmeyers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: lake in the Hills, IL
Posts: 814
Likes: 0
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default

Originally Posted by BarryReade View Post
Most of my Rx batts are 2 cell lipos running through a Losi 6v regulator that will flow 5a continuously. I just need to check and make sure it will flow enough current. How much current do these ignitions need?
600mah for 1 hour of full throttle (9000 rpm), less as the RPM goes down.
Old 03-04-2014, 07:16 AM
  #22  
Bob Pastorello
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (198)
 
Bob Pastorello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 6,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Yep...was just posting one as an example. In the not-so-"old days" of these DLE's and RCxcel ignitions, it was impossible to get any procedures or suggestions from anyone. Things have improved significantly since those times....if you farted sideways, the ignitions would pop.
Old 03-04-2014, 07:56 AM
  #23  
BarryReade
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,495
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by Bob Pastorello View Post
if you farted sideways, the ignitions would pop.
I would have had a problem back then.
Old 03-04-2014, 07:58 AM
  #24  
Bob Pastorello
Thread Starter
My Feedback: (198)
 
Bob Pastorello's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: El Reno, OK
Posts: 6,707
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

We did, believe me!!!!!
Old 03-04-2014, 07:59 AM
  #25  
BarryReade
My Feedback: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Powder Springs, GA
Posts: 1,495
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default

Originally Posted by kmeyers View Post
600mah for 1 hour of full throttle (9000 rpm), less as the RPM goes down.
Thanks K, my Losi regulators will work fine I see. I just need to get an optical switch to kill the motor from the Tx.

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.