Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Idle screw and spring

Search this Thread

Old 10-27-2015, 03:25 PM
Booyah6973

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Idle screw and spring

I'm new to gas engines and I've been told by members in my hobby club to remove the idle screw and the coiled spring that wraps around the throttle body so I don't burn my throttle servo. Is this correct?
Any feedback would be apprecaited
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpeg
Views:	65
Size:	269.9 KB
ID:	2127982  

Last edited by Booyah6973; 10-27-2015 at 03:28 PM.
Old 10-27-2015, 04:02 PM
flyinwalenda
My Feedback: (5)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

There is no need for the idle-stop screw. Some new engine carbs have them,some don't.
The return spring issue is something you will get many answers to. If you leave it on you will always have a positive return to idle or closed throttle in case your servo or linkage fails. I don't see it causing a good servo to fail. I have some engines with and some without the spring.
Old 10-27-2015, 04:33 PM
dasintex
My Feedback: (10)

Originally Posted by flyinwalenda
There is no need for the idle-stop screw. Some new engine carbs have them,some don't.
The return spring issue is something you will get many answers to. If you leave it on you will always have a positive return to idle or closed throttle in case your servo or linkage fails. I don't see it causing a good servo to fail. I have some engines with and some without the spring.
Totally Agree +++++
Old 10-27-2015, 05:18 PM
Truckracer
My Feedback: (19)

Received 44 Likes on 43 Posts