Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

Avistar 1.80 coversion to 91 Octane Petrol

Community
Search
Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Avistar 1.80 coversion to 91 Octane Petrol

Search this Thread

Old 12-03-2022, 09:17 PM
rinkhals01

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile Avistar 1.80 coversion to 91 Octane Petrol

Hi there fellow modellers.
I have a new in box Avistar 1.80 and I want to convert it to Petrol by using the existing carburetor and a Perry oscillating pump to provide fuel pressure, thereby negating the use of a Warlboro carb in the interest of simplicity. I furthermore will most likely be using an OS-G5 glow plug once again to keep it simple and not using spark ignition which in turn means no complicated engine timing, and obviously less shagging around when at the field. ( As a quick aside, I am a qualified engineer and have taken into account the porting, compression ratio and swept volume, and on paper,I cannot theoretically see why this won't work.)
This set-up, if practical, it will leave me with an easy to operate, lighter engine than what is commercially available while using a much cheaper fuel than nitro.
I am less perturbed about the ignition timing as I can "adjust" this trialing different fuel octanes.
Any thoughts would be so gratefully accepted with many thanks> Smile
Old 12-04-2022, 02:22 AM
1967brutus

Received 76 Likes on 71 Posts