Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

3w80Xi on canister very peaky

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2006, 07:50 PM
Nogyro
My Feedback: (10)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 3w80Xi on canister very peaky

I've been running a 3w80Xi on a 3w LL canister for a few months now. I feel like I've pretty well got all the engine idosyncracses figured out. Needles are set right, and engine is pretty well broke in I believe with 39 hrs of run time on it. Running 93 octane with Mobil Racing 2T at 50:1. The problem I'm having is right at the rpm that I'm trying to harrier at, it acts like its on a full length pipe and picks up 800 rpm with just one click of throttle. I've tried several different throttle servos, worked on a throttle curve in the transmitter till I'm blue in the face. All that does is move the location of the throttle stick where it comes up on pipe at. I tached it on the ground today, and when I'm at 3800 rpm, one more click on the tranny makes a jump to 4600 rpm.[:@] I've tried 26x10 Bolly wood, Menz S, and NX props, and I get the jump in rpm with all three. In the air, once in a while you can give it one click of throttle in level flight, and it might take 3 seconds or so, but it gradually picks up the 800 r's, not instant like when you're trying to harrier. This is getting very frustrating. It's also at the rpm that I do (attempt) rolling harriers at. Just can't do them the way the throttle is. This is my first canister setup, and I've never used a full length pipe on anything either. Is this normal? It's killing my 3D. I really like the quietness of the canister, but I can't live with this touchy of a throttle at that particular point in rpm. I can fly IMAC all day long and it's not a problem, don't even notice it.

Anyone have any suggestions?

Here's a pic of my setup.
Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Fd91868.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	65.1 KB
ID:	495866  
Old 07-23-2006, 08:00 PM
flyinrazrback