Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

FPE 3.2

Search this Thread

Old 08-05-2006, 11:17 PM
bsheridan2002

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default FPE 3.2

I'm considering buying one of these engines. Are they any good? I'm new to gas and I need a 50cc powerplant.
Thanks
Old 08-05-2006, 11:29 PM
bubbagates
My Feedback: (32)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default RE: FPE 3.2

They are a bit on the heavy side

I'd look into a ZDZ50, Da50, 3W50 or even the new 3W 55i and the Brison 3.2 I have all of these and love them all with the DA and ZDZ being broken in a well running. I can't say much about the 3w engines as they are still going through the breakin process but so far they have also been very reliable. The FPE3.2 I had was nothing but problems and spent loads of time back at the manufacturer and it got to the point that I did not trust it so it's sitting out on the workshop.

ZDZ can be found at the following link.

http://www.rcshowcase.com/

I get my Da engine from Troy Built Models though you can get them right from Desert Aircraft

http://www.troybuiltmodels.com/

http://www.desertaircraft.com

I get my 3W engines from Aircraft International

http://www.aircraftinternational.com/

All three have been excellent for customer service

Old 08-05-2006, 11:51 PM
bsheridan2002

Thanks Bubba. was your fpe an older one? do you know if your poor experience was typical?
Old 08-06-2006, 06:33 AM
ljones5000
My Feedback: (2)

I have a FPE 3.2 on a SIG Sundancer biplane and it is a really, really good engine. It starts easily, runs great at all speeds, instant transtion, steady idle, etc. I run a Bolly wood 22X8 prop and it's been a while since I tached it but my recollection is that it turns about 6700rpm...that might not be the right number as I pay more attention to how it flys my plane than rpm. It flys the crap out of my Sundancer.