Header tanks on gassers ?

Search this Thread

Old 05-21-2003, 01:48 AM
747drvr
My Feedback: (5)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Header tanks on gassers ?

Hi Guys,

I'm new to the gasser game and was wondering about the use of header tanks with gas engines. I've had a few engine failures with my ZDZ 40 since I received it used and am trying to cover all bases.
Header tanks are very commonly used in turbines and helicopters to ensure bubble free fuel flow. How tolerant are gas engines to the occasional bubble of air if the clunk becomes exposed during manoeuvering ? I'm thinking it's not a problem since no one talks about it but I just wanted some educated opinions .

Thanks.
Old 05-21-2003, 02:36 AM
Big_Bird
My Feedback: (1)

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Marc, IMHO a header tank is totally unnecessary on a gasser. The carbs are very tolerant of the occasional bubble. Unless you are very close to empty on fuel, you should be able to do any aerobatics that your plane can stand without a sputter or miss from the engine.

Ken
Old 05-22-2003, 12:05 PM
SAL98
My Feedback: (6)

I second that. Also a header tank is not only used to discourage bubbles, its mainly used to even out pressure going to the carb in different attitudes. Since the header is always full throughout the run of the main tank, the needle settings are not as likely to change as much. ( This is what the pattern guys did before pumper engines like the Y.S )

Also you must use throttle management when flying these bigger engines on bigger planes. No more full throttle loops. You then will be cutting the throttle back on your down-lines and not asking the tank for fuel when the clunk will be exposed to air
Old 05-22-2003, 08:29 PM
strato911

As I understand it (and I'm new to gassers too), gas engines are quite tolerant of the occaisional bubble in the fuel supply because their carbs have a pump integrated into them.