Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

O.S. 1.60 fx: Break-in??

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2003, 11:19 AM
Ziggy27111

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default O.S. 1.60 fx: Break-in??

I have a quick question for you guys. I have read the manual for my new o.s. 1.60fx as I am nearly ready to break it in. However, there is one thing I am confused about.

If I can recall correctly, (I don't have the manual here at work) it states to set the high speed needle 2 1/2 turns out from the fully closed position. Then, I believe it says to run the engine at a rich "4 stroke setting" then alternating to a "2 stroke setting."

Here is my question, is the rich 4 stroke setting 2 1/2 turns out from the fully closed position? I would think this would be really lean. If it is not, how do I go about finding this elusive "4 stroke setting?"

Sorry for the lame question, but I am really confused. I have plenty of positive experience with .40 to .90 size 2 stokes, but these manuals have never mentioned the rich "4 stroke setting" like the 1.60fx. Thank you for your help!!

Ryan
Old 05-28-2003, 11:51 AM
NM2K
My Feedback: (14)

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Your .40 to .90 size engines were most likely non ringed. Those engines (non ringed) should never be ran in the elusive four-stroke setting.

The OS 1.60FX is a ringed engine and most definitely should be ran as rich as possible, at least for several tanks of fuel.

There is a difference in sound between the two-stroke setting and the four-stroke setting that is fairly easy to detect, even for the uninitiated.

The four-stroke setting simply misses a beat and fires every other revolution, or a reasonable approximation. It is much lower pitched in sound, for a given rpm. Four-stroking a ringed engine is a good thing. You cannot do too much of it.

Four-stroking a non ringed engine is bad in most cases, you should never do it.