Go Back  RCU Forums > Glow Engines, Gas Engines, Fuel & Mfg Support Forums > Gas Engines
Reload this Page >

Do I need to worry about this DLE 55 - Casting Voids

Community
Search
Notices
Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

Do I need to worry about this DLE 55 - Casting Voids

Search this Thread

Old 04-15-2009, 08:55 AM
DaBear1

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Do I need to worry about this DLE 55 - Casting Voids

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to gas engines. I've been waiting for my LHS to get a bunch of DLE 55's in. He got them, I picked it up yesterday and there are some large casting voids around the exaust.

Should i take this engine back? He said all of the engines he got have these voids. Is this normal? Like I said, I'm new to Gas engines.

Thanks

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Ki20698.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	50.8 KB
ID:	1180709   Click image for larger version

Name:	Dy79020.jpg
Size:	45.5 KB
ID:	1180710   Click image for larger version

Name:	Us54951.jpg
Size:	37.2 KB
ID:	1180711   Click image for larger version

Name:	Fa85878.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	1180712  
Old 04-15-2009, 09:03 AM
JEFFRO503
My Feedback: (9)

Default RE: Do I need to worry about this DLE 55 - Casting Voids

wow.....actually i wouldn't run that motor if i was you. take it back to the LHS and see if they will replace it for another one. They can deal with sending it back to DL USA or what ever distributor they bought it from. I don't think it should be that big of a deal , but you want your exhaust port to be as smooth as possible. That hole is gonna fill up with carbon and do nothing but "drag" the exhaust after time i think. It probably wouldn't really hurt performance , but that thing should have never been put together at the factory with a flaw like that.
Old 04-15-2009, 09:11 AM
DSTIEBS