Gas Engines Questions or comments about gas engines can be posted here

DA85 vs 3W85xi vs MVVS 80 IRS

Search this Thread

Old 04-04-2010, 10:37 PM
apalsson
My Feedback: (1)

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default DA85 vs 3W85xi vs MVVS 80 IRS

I realise this is somewhat of a subjective issue and likely to get the brand loyalists out but it's not my intention at all to cause a debate.

The thing is I'm in the process of putting together a 97" A6M-5 Zero and the recommended engine for it is 85cc
The plane is likely to weigh anywhere from 30 - 32lbs so I guess a G62 or equivalent is out of the question.
The cowl limits me to a singe cylinder engine and the only commonly available engines in this size class in Australia are 3W and DA

Because I have no personal experience with either brand, I'm after a bit of comparison between the two. I would appreciate very much comments from people who actually own either (or both) of those engines.

What I want to achieve is:

Good mid-range torque. I'm not interested in top RPMs (this is a scale warbird)
Smooth running (I have seen references to the DA85 being a vibrator). I have seen a build thread on another Zero where the builder had to reinforce the plane with Hysol because of vibrations from the DA
Able to swing a large prop - I want to use a large 3-blade prop. Possibly as big as 24"
Availability of mufflers. - A Pitts type muffler will probably be my best bet

I'd very much appreciate suggestions / feedback / comments on the two engines listed above in terms of my goals for the plane.
Also - are there other brands out there that might achieve the same? (MT80 comes to mind)

Thanks in advance
Old 04-05-2010, 01:53 AM
pauldo

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: DA85 vs 3W85xi vs MVVS 80 IRS