Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

Jumped in with both feet.......advice?

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Jumped in with both feet.......advice?

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2004, 04:00 PM
jessh1969
My Feedback: (1)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jumped in with both feet.......advice?

Ok, here's the deal. I saw a plane and had to have it.

http://www.rcuniverse.com/market/item.cfm?itemId=6399

I have a hanger 9 T-34 and GP stuka that I am flying now, but they are babies compared to this plane. I am a pretty good pilot, but more into scale flight (ie not hotdogging) Did I take too big a step? I am confident in flying the planes I have....My T-34 has a Saito 72 and is pretty quick. Here was my thinking....

1)bigger flies better, right?
2)don't let the size scare you, it'll be stable, right?
3)I have some good friends to help (they don't know they volunteered yet.)
4) I am quite possibly an idiot....

So, I have been reading up on gas, but what's the real story? do I HAVE to hand start

I have all the glow stuff, but what different equipment do I need for gas? Is there any "Gas for idiots"website?

thanks!

Jess
Old 09-20-2004, 04:39 PM
KidVermin
My Feedback: (3)

Default RE: Jumped in with both feet.......advice?

Jess, you made a good deal. Since I went to giant gas several years ago, I've only kept a few of my favorite slimers. You can fly all weekend for $1.50
If you put in a G-62 with spring start, it usually means a single recoil fire-up.
Old 09-20-2004, 05:20 PM
jessh1969

Well, one thing...I am excited I bought the whole outfit. It has a brison/sachs 5.8 on it. I have to admit I am I little nervous about hand starting something that large...there is on guy at our club who flys big stuff w/ gas, and it doesn't look that bad?!

Jess
Old 09-20-2004, 06:10 PM
WilsonFlyer
My Feedback: (13)