Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

Sig Extra 300XS Recommendations???

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Sig Extra 300XS Recommendations???

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2005, 11:12 AM
osxpro
My Feedback: (51)

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Default Sig Extra 300XS Recommendations???

I just purchased a Sig Extra 300XS ARF the other day and would like some suggestions from the giant scale folks out there. While I have been flying for over 10 years, this is my first Giant Scale plane (besides my giant U-Can-Do). I would like to put in the recommended 40CC Gas engine vs the Saito 180 (either one is a choice) but I thought I'd get your thoughts on it. I do not have any experience with Gas engines. Anyone out there know from experience what the advantages/disadvantes there are to either of these (besides the obvious fuel costs for the Saito? In addition to the engine, I'd also like to setup the plane with a Gyro in the Tail. I currently have a JR NEJ-3000 Gyro and 8700G Tail servo but that servo only puts out 50 Oz of torque. I'm sure that won't be enough. My Receiver will be a JR R950S with the Elevators mixed in. The Servos I'm using in the Tail and ailerons are JR DS8311's. At 130oz of torque each, I'm sure these should suffice. I'm also going to use the 3000 Mah "c" pack for battery. Should I use 4.8 or 6 volt in this plane setup???
Your recommendations are appreciated.
I have 3 weeks to get this plane ready for our clubs Giant Scale Fly-in so I'm thinking I have enough time to do this the right way.
Old 09-15-2005, 11:52 AM
T. Bob
My Feedback: (9)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Sig Extra 300XS Recommendations???

I've had one with a YS 140. The plane is a great IMAC plane but not much of a 3Der.
I would be hesitant with a gas motor because of the additional weight.