Go Back  RCU Forums > RC Airplanes > Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic
Reload this Page >

Power Expander or not -that's the question

Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Power Expander or not -that's the question

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2008, 07:36 PM
thevirginian

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Power Expander or not -that's the question

I have been reading and hearing about the pros and cons of power expanders for large scale airplanes. Many say it is a must for 30-40%, but just as many pilots are opposed to this opinion. I don't want o open a can of worms here, but I would like to hear what's really behind this " gadget". I have been flying large scale airplanes for a few years without the use of any electronic devices other than the straight servos, receiver and dual battery packs. Even with four digital servos for ailerons going into one channel in the receiver I never had a problem so far. I always programmed the linked servos thus eliminating any fighting among them. I am planning to run these new A123s in a redundant configuration in my new WH Sukhoi 26. Now do I need an expander or not before I spend another $150 for a nice "useless" piece of electronic that could go wrong?
Old 09-28-2008, 08:39 PM
Taildragger726

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default RE: Power Expander or not -that's the question

I am not comfortable with more than one high powered servo per lead. If you have enough ports on your reciever,and the mixing ability, go for it! [sm=thumbs_up.gif]
Old 09-28-2008, 10:49 PM
cygnet
My Feedback: (33)

If you haven't used a power expander yet and your systems work why even think about changing, I'm like you I fly 35 and 40% stuff and never use a power expander just keep it simple and you will be fine. Just my .02
Old 09-29-2008, 12:15 AM
camss69
My Feedback: (46)

Received 66 Likes on 52 Posts