Community
Search
Notices
Giant Scale Aircraft - 3D & Aerobatic Discuss all your 3D & Aerobatic giant scale airplanes right here!

Byron Christen Eagle help

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2003, 01:50 PM
Racinrc14
My Feedback: (7)

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Byron Christen Eagle help

Hello,

I recently acquired a Byron 1/3 scale Eagle kit that is NIB. I have never built an all-foam airplane before, let alone a very large one. I am a beginner in the ranks of large scale airplanes, although I have been flying since 1980. So, if any of you guys (or gals) have any recommendation as far as building, what to power it with, and covering suggestions I am all ears. I can't wait to finish it, but I really have no idea what I'm in for. Will I need to buy high torque servos? Will have to buy a large engine, or should I convert my older (but never run) Mac chainsaw engine? Is Econocote the way to go, or should I 'glass it? Any suggestions would be most helpful! Thanks!

Tommy
Old 06-26-2003, 02:24 PM
tonyc
My Feedback: (4)

I have had the Pitts which is the same as the Eagle. Yes to the high torgue servo question. This plane is too large for standard servo.

As for motor, something that will not quit on you. A dead stick landing is a little harry. You have to dive for the ground and flare out.

As for covering, you want light, there are some very good builders that can glass and paint light. I am not one of them. If you want to fly and fly a lot I would go with low temp iron on covering. This will not look as good as a glass/paint job but it will fly a little better.

My Pitts was a glass/paint job and it flew very well, but I did't build it. One of those good builders built it. I know my limits and its not painting.

Hope this helps

tony
Old 06-26-2003, 02:32 PM
F106A
My Feedback: (2)

Hi Tommy,
Having owned 3 Byron Pitts over the years, here's my suggestions:
Double up on the 1/8" inch firewall and make it 1/4".