RCU Forums

RCU Forums (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/)
-   Giant Scale Aircraft - General (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/giant-scale-aircraft-general-467/)
-   -   1/4 scale servo (https://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/giant-scale-aircraft-general-467/11683623-1-4-scale-servo.html)

Real2You 10-12-2020 09:12 AM

1/4 scale servo

Hello everyone...I purchased 7 high torque servos to put in a 95" wingspan ARF Beaver I am putting together. I get the servos and low and behold...they are 1/4 scale(so it says on the box) servos and look to be the size of lemons.
I was thinking they would be the physical size of the standard servos I always get. The cut outs in the plane are for standard size servos. My question is....does anyone know of a plane that these physically huge servos will fit in?
I would rather get standard size servos for the Beaver and use these huge servos for something else. lol...yeah I'm a beginner.

sweinhart 10-12-2020 10:51 AM

Ive built and flown many airframes and have never seen one that accommodated 'giant scale' servos. My largest airframes are 1/3 scale and 1/12th C-130 133" wingspan. They uses standard digital high-torque servos.

Real2You 10-12-2020 11:49 AM

Yeah...I was looking for something that didn't call for standard size servos and I couldn't find anything. I'll use them somewhere, I'll just have to custom build a spot for them if the plane is an ARF.

DGrant 10-13-2020 07:47 AM

Didn't we recommend the Hitec D645's in another thread? Lol. Those are more what you want.

The "1/4 scale" type servos are monsters. Very heavy and huge, and generally not nearly the torque rating of a standard digital servo.

I don't even know why they call them 1/scale... they're just big, fat, heavy, and weak servos.

Real2You 10-13-2020 01:02 PM